1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Sharing Same Internet Account

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by backup808, Nov 29, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. backup808

backup808 Thread Starter

Is it illegal to have two people to share the same internet account? If they were to go on the net at the same time, would the connection speed be less or would it work at all? If it is illegal then I won't try it :)

2. Davey7549

Davey7549

backup808
    I am not a Lawyer so can not speak to the legal portion directly
    since all contracts could be different with ISPs'. However There are many equipment manufactures and software manufactures that have dedicated time and resources to developing products to allow multiple computer use on one assigned number. The way most feel is you are paying for access to the internet via one IP address and the amount of traffic that travels through that address is irrelevant.
    To your question of can you.....If you have a dial-up I do not think it would work or would it be advisable to try since your speed as it is is very slow. High speed connections on the other hand, Cable, DSL, T1 and so on a quite adept at handling traffic with very little bandwidth sharing problem. I am sure you could push a single home user line to the point of slowing however that would be an exception.
    The equipment required, Router, hubs, switches, and recently Wireless networks all have to be part of your decision because of cost and wiring used in interconnectivity.
    Here is a site I use that explains the ins and outs of networking.
    Click Here for site.
    Hope that helps and we will see if other have thought on the legal side of networking and using one IP address.
    Dave

3. Max19

Max19 Account Disabled