1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Shift + P

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by billypilgrim, Jan 7, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. billypilgrim

    billypilgrim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    When trying to type a capitol P into just about any application, XP restores a folder in My Documents (recently created folder, full of pictures). If that folder is not open, My Documents is restored. This is extremely annoying and I don't know how to troubleshoot/fix it. Any ideas out there?

    It even overrides a Shift + P within an application which uses such a shortcut!

    If no Windows folders are open, I can type Shift + P with no unintended consequences.

    Very strange, no? Avira did find a virus in my computer yesterday... could this be the cause?

    Thank you!
     
  2. billypilgrim

    billypilgrim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    46
  3. surferdude2

    surferdude2

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    619
    I'm guessing you may have some keyboard fault that is causing a 3rd key to be stuck down so that pressing shift+P is actually asking for ctrl+shift+p or alt+shift+p or something of that order.

    Try a different keyboard. Try uninstalling your present keyboard from Device Manager and reinstalling it.
     
  4. billypilgrim

    billypilgrim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    thanks, I guess I will just try another keyboard. uninstalling and reinstalling did not help.

    this is not the first problem I've had with this keyboard (bad drivers), so I'm not surprised
     
  5. billypilgrim

    billypilgrim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    ack! I just bought a new keyboard, uninstalled all the keyboard devices from device manager, uninstalled Microsoft IntelliType, restarted the computer - and I still have the issue

    anyone have any other ideas besides just reinstalling the OS?
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/973223

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice