1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Short Recording Time

Discussion in 'Multimedia' started by unclewoody, Oct 14, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. unclewoody

    unclewoody Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    175
    We have four computers, all Win7, connected to our home network, with an HSHomerun TV tuner.
    On only one computer, the Media Center recordings are stopped after 9 to 19 minutes.
    This has only been happening for about two weeks -- before that, recording on this computer was fine.
    These are scheduled recordings, either via "Guide" or by "Channel and Time" scheduling, even in the middle of the night, when none of the other computers are on, so I see no way that it could be a tuner problem, but I could be wrong.
    The recording starts out fine, then just stops after a few minutes.
    The scheduled time can be from half an hour to three hours -- still only a few minutes are recorded.
    I removed the Media Center, via Control Panel, and added it back, with no change.
    Any suggestions appreciated.
     
  2. Oddba11

    Oddba11

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    6,996
    First Name:
    Jim
    Check Windows Event Viewer and see if Windows is logging any errors.
     
  3. unclewoody

    unclewoody Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    175
    I had some event scheduling errors, but I do not know what they were, or what to do about them.
     
  4. unclewoody

    unclewoody Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    175
    Is this problem most likely a Media Center, a Tuner problem, or other?
    Note, I am not asking for a diagnosis, just an opinion on likelihood.
    I would assume, a tuner problem, since it happens on more than one computer.
    Last night, it recorded only 3 minutes on a 30-minute program.
     
  5. Oddba11

    Oddba11

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    6,996
    First Name:
    Jim
    Schedule the same recording on a working and non-working PC and see what happens.

    If other PC's are working, I don't see how it could be a tuner issue as they all share the same tuner. The problem would appear to be with that individual PC. Network connectivity, another program or process interfering, lack of storage space, Media Center, or even some odd Windows issue.

    Anything noted in the Event Viewer at the time of the failure would be suspect.
     
  6. unclewoody

    unclewoody Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    175
    I scheduled the same two-hour program on two computers last night:
    One stopped after 5 minutes with event log stating no TV signal present,
    The other after 25 minutes, with the log stating Manually stopped.
    How could it have been manually stopped, when I was sound asleep?
    I am getting a bit more comfortable with the event logs, now.
     
  7. Oddba11

    Oddba11

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    6,996
    First Name:
    Jim
    Odd that they fail at different times with a different status.

    Try power cycling the tuner.

    You may also want to check the power settings and at least temporarily ensure nothing goes to sleep.
     
  8. unclewoody

    unclewoody Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    175
    hanks for the hints, Oddball.
    Power setting is to "Never" go to sleep.
    I have power cycled the tuner, several times, with no change.
    I have absolutely no idea how the cable card works; do you have any idea if that might be the problem?
    Aside from the stopped recordings problem, in Media Center, I sometimes get a 'No Tuner Available" message, when trying to watch live, when none of the tuner lights on the Homerun Prime are illuminated, just the other two are.
     
  9. unclewoody

    unclewoody Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    175
    An update --
    I just watched a one-hour show live, and started to record at its beginning.
    The live program lasted the full hour, but the recording stopped after 4 minutes.
     
  10. texasbullet

    texasbullet

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    2,264
    First Name:
    Ramon
    How are you connecting the TV Tuner into your computer?
    Does your computer has enough disc space?
     
  11. unclewoody

    unclewoody Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    175
    Wired from my router, and the C:\ drive has 76.4 GB free.
     
  12. unclewoody

    unclewoody Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    175
    An encouraging update --
    I removed Media Center and added it back, today, and it recorded two one-hour shows full-time tonight.
    I'll have to test it a few more times before I consider the problem resolved, but it IS encouraging.
    I'll try to record a few more, tonight, and post the results tomorrow.
     
  13. unclewoody

    unclewoody Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    175
    Looking good, so far -- I got full recording on three other shows last night on this computer.
    I will have to try that on the other computers with which I have had this problem.
    For anyone who might need to, but does not, know just what I did:
    Control Panel>Programs and Features>Turn Windows features on or off (upper left corner).
    Expand "Media Features", select Media Center, follow instructions on screen
    Requires restart to complete.
    Add back in, after restart.
    Will post back in a day or two as to results on other computers.
     
  14. Oddba11

    Oddba11

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    6,996
    First Name:
    Jim
    Progress!

    Glad you seem to have found a solution.
     
  15. unclewoody

    unclewoody Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    175
    Thanks, Oddball, but don't break out the champagne yet -- it worked (so far) on this computer, but not on the one which I used to use to record all of the movies and football games.
    I got 25 and 27 minutes of two one-hour programs. so I am still looking.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1135410

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice