1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Shortcut Key

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by Deke40, Jan 5, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Deke40

    Deke40 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    6,113
    I can usuall assign a shortkey to icons on my taskbar. Just downloaded IE6 and I am having problems with assigning one to OE. I also tried the icon on my desktop with no luck.

    The popup window says:

    Unable to save changes to 'Launch Outlook Express.Ink'

    Acess is denied.
     
  2. Mosaic1

    Mosaic1

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2001
    Messages:
    7,486
    The Desktop Icon for OE is read only. I don;t think you can make that kind of a change.
    I have IE6 too. I tried to create a shortcut in several other places and assign a hotkey. None of the shortcuts worked.

    How about a workaround?

    Either a Batch file or a VBS file to open OE.

    Then create a shortcut to the batch or VBS.

    Assign the hotkey to the new shortcut.

    Copy the bold to Notepad. Save as OE.vbs

    Set WshShell = WScript.CreateObject("WScript.Shell")
    WshShell.Run "C:\Progra~1\Outloo~1\MSIMN.EXE",1




    Or a Batch file. Copy the bold to Notepad. Save as OE.bat

    start /max C:\Progra~1\Outloo~1\MSIMN.EXE
     
  3. Deke40

    Deke40 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    6,113
    My old shorcut for OE must have started working for some reason. I had downloaded OE6 and thought it wouldn't work.

    Thanks MO.
     
  4. Deke40

    Deke40 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    6,113
    Mo-I was wrong. I got rid of the .vbs on my desktop and lost the ability to use my shorcut key. I created another one and it still will not let me assign the shortcut key I was using before. The funny thing is the shortcut key still works.

    I can assign an Ctrl+Alt key but not the F10 key I was previously using.

    Oh well-I guess that is just the world of computers.

    Thanks again.
     
  5. Deke40

    Deke40 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    6,113
    Mo-Just tried to use my F key shortcut key for OE and I get the following error message.



    <img src="http://forums.techguy.org/attachment.php?s=&postid=677096">

    I tried a couple of weather downloads(stupid me) and one said something about "I had a newer version of a file it was going to download did I want to go ahead", I did this on on before I noticed the wording. On another one it said basically the same thing but that it was going to backup these files. I didn't like either one and uninstalled them. Is this related?
    Appreciate the help. Everything else seem alright. I even tried to create a new vbs with the script you gave me and go the same results.
     

    Attached Files:

    • oe.jpg
      oe.jpg
      File size:
      11.9 KB
      Views:
      75
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/111597

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice