1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Shorted out HHD (w/power plug)

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by TOBAZ, Feb 22, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. TOBAZ

    TOBAZ Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    47
    I shorted out my HHD with its power plug now it wont power up. I'm sure i fried the circuit board :( re:eek:ther HHd runs fine with that power plug.
    I was just wondering if i could fix or get a new circuit board for the HHd .
    I have very important info on it i need ...(TAXES) augggggg:(
    Any help PLEASE
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. TOBAZ

    TOBAZ Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    47
    ciruit board on the HHD
     
  4. TOBAZ

    TOBAZ Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    47
    ooppsss HDD i mean
     
  5. TOBAZ

    TOBAZ Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    47
    ANY ONE??????????????????
     
  6. Triple6

    Triple6 Rob Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    51,708
    Well you could buy a new hard drive and use its controller board as long as the other parts in the drive will still work.

    How exactly did this happen and what exactly did happen?
     
  7. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    I would be willing to venture that you are pretty much out of luck. May I ask how exactly you were able to accomplish that?





    LOL, Triple, inquiring minds want to know :D
     
  8. TOBAZ

    TOBAZ Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    47
    i forgot to turn off power to pc when i installed a new ram chip...duh me.....
    not paying attion to color code when pluging back in some lines re: getting to ram has all the wiring in the way...
    saw small spark:( :( :(
     
  9. raybro

    raybro

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    5,834
    Now I AM confused :confused:

    Why do you think you killed the hard drive by installing a RAM module? They are not even mounted together.
     
  10. raybro

    raybro

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    5,834
    Was the power ON or just plugged in but turned off? Where, exactly, did you see the "spark"?
     
  11. danielno8

    danielno8

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    289
    ^ he just sed cos he unplugged the HD did he not?? and then when plugging back in......i did the same thing only with a CD drive, n whole comp switched off, but then worked again and so did CD drive :)
     
  12. raybro

    raybro

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    5,834
    Have you hooked everything back up and tried to boot?
     
  13. Triple6

    Triple6 Rob Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    51,708
    Does the rest of the computer work? I mean does it turn on at all? It's next to impossible to pur the molex connector in backward, but on the other hand the power should have been unplugged from teh computer.
     
  14. TOBAZ

    TOBAZ Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    47
    puter was off but power to pc was still on.
    putting new ram sticks in i had to move wires and ribbons out of the way heance unplug a few things... then when i went to plug all back in after i installed new ram stinks i ZAPED the HDD saw small sparks also....
     
  15. TOBAZ

    TOBAZ Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    47
    yes every thing else works fine.
    I HAD 2 HDD!! am able to boot and operate from other drive
    puter is fine but the other HDD is the one i need to get info from
     
  16. LONGHAIR

    LONGHAIR

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,525
    Why would there be power coming out of the wires if the machine was turned off?
    The power supply is not "powering" anything?
    The leads that send power to the hard drives, optical drives, etc. are not "hot" then. The power supply itself may have 110v A.C. coming in, but nothing should come out. The power supply is a "transformer" that is converting 110v A.C. to several lower voltages of D.C. power.

    Are you sure it was not "static" electricity?
     
  17. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/205969