1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

should I install a leftover second- harddrive,20G

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Duhbob, Feb 7, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Duhbob

Duhbob Thread Starter

My old EIDE WD Caviar200AA is in a box.It was in a Compaq p.o.s.that died,last march.
    My new" no-name" is running NTFS. and has 80 Gb Hdd.
    How much hassle to add additional" slave" drive to new machine?
    what are the snafu's out there? How do I start?
    btw I'm new at this

Is the ole' 5600rpm drive seemingly tons slower than my 7200 in practice?

Can any of the fat32 stuff be left on that 20Gb or does it all have to be wiped?

2. kiwiguy

kiwiguy

Just set the jumpers on the back of the drive to "Slave" and plug it in (with the PC powered down of course. You may need to buy a second IDE cable (flat 80 core cable) if there isnt a spaer plug available on your system. Each cable can take 1 master and 1 slave set device.

No need to worry about FAT32, XP reads it just fine.

5400 is slightly slower than 7200, but not bad at all.

That should be it.

3. hammerbill

hammerbill

If you need the space, go ahead and put it on there. Personally, I would put it as a slave drive on the second IDE channel (maby a master) along with a cdrom because I like my primary channel to have devices of equal ata specification. If you are using it for storage, it may not be as important that it be fast, but you don't want anything slowing down your primary hard drive at all. I have heard both ways, but some say your IDE channel will go the speed of the lowest ATA specification on it. Don't worry about RPM and fat32 is just fine.

4. kiwiguy

kiwiguy

The primary would be limited to the speed of a slower secondary only when data was exchanged between them.