1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Should I upgrade my graphics card?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by dlbeck, Aug 31, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dlbeck

    dlbeck Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Messages:
    173
    I just bought a new Viewsonic VG2021m 20 inch lcd monitor. It keeps telling me that I should set my graphics card to 1400 x 1050 for best viewing results. My Intel graphics card only goes up to 1280x1024. What I'm seeing on the monitor is nice but certainly not stunning. Is it time to upgrade my graphics card. The computer is made by Emachines and I'm sure the graphics card is middle of the road at best.
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. erick295

    erick295

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,208
    Your card can almost certainly handle something higher than 1280x1024, but 1400x1050 is not a standard resolution, so if Windows is not detecting your monitor correctly, it won't give you that option. If you haven't already, go to ViewSonic's site and download the newest driver for your monitor. Install it, restart, and then try to change the resolution again. Chances are you do not need a new video card.
     
  4. dlbeck

    dlbeck Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Messages:
    173
    I've upgraded the driver for the monitor and the Intel graphics card. But the most resolution I'm offered still is 1280x1024. Any other suggestions?
     
  5. erick295

    erick295

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,208
    Not from this end, but maybe someone else has one for you...
     
  6. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,443
    By all means get a new video card....
     
  7. dlbeck

    dlbeck Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Messages:
    173
    Any recommendatons?
     
  8. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,443
    We need to know your hardware specs to answer that.
     
  9. dlbeck

    dlbeck Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Messages:
    173
    Computer Profile Summary
    Computer Name: Emachines (in PROGRESS)
    Profile Date: Thursday, August 31, 2006 2:11:30 PM
    Advisor Version: 6.1f
    Windows Logon: Owner


    Click here for Belarc's PC Management products, for large and small companies.

    Operating System System Model
    Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 2 (build 2600) emachines T3958
    Processor a Main Circuit Board b
    2.93 gigahertz Intel Pentium 4
    16 kilobyte primary memory cache
    256 kilobyte secondary memory cache Board: Intel Corporation D845GVSR AAC79794-102
    Serial Number: AZSR44311431
    Bus Clock: 133 megahertz
    BIOS: Intel Corp. SR84510A.46T.0014.P06.0410050243 10/05/2004
    Drives Memory Modules c,d
    82.33 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity
    53.80 Gigabytes Hard Drive Free Space

    LITE-ON DVDRW SOHW-1633S [CD-ROM drive]

    Generic USB CF Reader USB Device [Hard drive] -- drive 2
    Generic USB MS Reader USB Device [Hard drive] -- drive 4
    Generic USB SD Reader USB Device [Hard drive] -- drive 1
    Generic USB SM Reader USB Device [Hard drive] -- drive 3
    HDS728080PLAT20 [Hard drive] (82.35 GB) -- drive 0, s/n PFD212S2SLTYRD, rev PF2OA21B, SMART Status: Healthy 1016 Megabytes Installed Memory

    Slot 'J6G1' has 512 MB (serial number 0610272A)
    Slot 'J6G2' has 512 MB (serial number 0110C416)
    Local Drive Volumes

    c: (on drive 0) 78.44 GB 52.01 GB free
    d: (on drive 0) 3.89 GB 1.79 GB free

    Network Drives
    None detected
    Users Printers
    local user accounts last logon
    Owner 8/31/2006 8:26:37 AM (admin)
    local system accounts
    Administrator never (admin)
    ASPNET never
    Guest 8/31/2006 11:05:19 AM
    HelpAssistant never
    SUPPORT_388945a0 never


    Marks a disabled account; Marks a locked account Amyuni Document Converter 2.50 on LPT1:
    Brother MFC-8840D on \\Ann\Brother MFC-8840D
    Canon LBP-4sx on LPT1:
    Canon PIXMA iP4000 on \\Ann\Canon PIXMA iP4000
    EPSON Stylus Photo 870 on USB001
    Epson Stylus Photo 870 ESC/P 2 on USB001
    Microsoft Office Document Image Writer Driver on Microsoft Document Imaging Writer Port:

    Controllers Display
    Standard floppy disk controller
    Intel(R) 82801DB Ultra ATA Storage Controller - 24CB
    Primary IDE Channel [Controller]
    Secondary IDE Channel [Controller] Intel(R) 82845G/GL/GE/PE/GV Graphics Controller [Display adapter]
    LogMeIn Mirror Driver [Display adapter]
    ViewSonic VG2021m [Monitor] (20.2"vis, s/n Q6U061703440, April 2006)
    Bus Adapters Multimedia
    Intel(R) 82801DB/DBM USB Universal Host Controller - 24C2
    Intel(R) 82801DB/DBM USB Universal Host Controller - 24C4
    Intel(R) 82801DB/DBM USB Universal Host Controller - 24C7
    Intel(R) 82801DB/DBM USB2 Enhanced Host Controller - 24CD SoundMAX Integrated Digital Audio
    Communications Other Devices
    SoftV92 Data Fax Modem with SmartCP
    Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connection
    RAS Async Adapter
    Network Card MAC Address: 00:11:11:7F:F3:93
    Network IP Address: 192.168.1.109 / 24 HID-compliant consumer control device
    HID-compliant device
    USB Human Interface Device
    USB Human Interface Device
    USB Human Interface Device
    USB Human Interface Device
    HID Keyboard Device
    Microsoft USB Digital Media Pro Keyboard (IntelliType Pro)
    HID-compliant mouse
    Microsoft USB IntelliMouse Explorer (IntelliPoint)
    Generic USB Hub
    USB Composite Device
    USB Composite Device
    USB Mass Storage Device
    USB Printing Support
    USB Root Hub
    USB Root Hub
    USB Root Hub
    USB Root Hub
    Patin Couffin engine
    Virus Protection
     
  10. Jones

    Jones

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    2,291
    Here's the Intel page with the info on your board:
    http://www.intel.com/products/motherboard/d845gvsr/index.htm

    Your on-board video is not very good, especially for any type of gaming. However, you're pretty limited with what you can get. Your board only has PCI slots (no AGP slot or PCI-E slot). The best card you will likely find is a nVidia GeForce 5500. It will be good for older games like the original Medal of Honor series and the like, but don't expect to run things like Elder Scrolls Oblivion or Battlefield 2 at high graphics settings.
     
  11. dlbeck

    dlbeck Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Messages:
    173
    I don't do any gaming except an occassional backgammon game on yahoo. No time to do gaming. Thanks for your advice though.
     
  12. Jones

    Jones

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    2,291
    Sorry, but I meant to comment on the screen resolution thing, but I gapped out. An add-in PCI video card will give you a better visual display overall, and not just for gaming. It will also enable you to run much higher resolutions on your new monitor, and give you alot more control over colors and display settings. That is likely the only solution to this particular problem.
     
  13. dlbeck

    dlbeck Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Messages:
    173
    Here's something I would love. Some sort of card that would allow me to plug comcast cable tv into and watch it on my new monitor in a window while I worked. would this be a separate card or an enhanced video card? Any recommendations on this and any feedback on watching tv on a computer screen?
    Thanks
     
  14. Jones

    Jones

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    2,291
    You're looking for a tv tuner card. It is a PCI card, and not the same as a video card. But, you may be able to find an ATI All-in-Wonder card that is both a video card and tv tuner, but PCI versions are going to be pretty hard to find. Here's one I found:
    http://www.nextag.com/ATI-ALL-IN-WONDER-55826584/prices-html
     
  15. erick295

    erick295

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,208
    A separate card might allow you to use higher resolutions, but it won't improve your display at all, unless you used one with a DVI output. Then you might see some improvement if there's something interferring with your analog VGA signal, but it would be marginal.

    In any case, the Intel chipset should support at least 1600x1200, which is higher than 1400x1050... however it may not be able to output something like 1400x1050 since it's a widescreen resolution. But I would be very surprised if it can't, because just about every onboard chipset I've seen is capable of running non-standard resolutions.

    Buying another video card is certianly one possible solution to your problem, but I think there is probably a simpler one. Unless you want to buy one anyway just to get the tuner.
     
  16. seekermeister

    seekermeister

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,140
    I'm no expert on TV tuners, but the only 2 ATI products that I have tried were defective out of the box. If I were going to buy a TV Tuner, my first choice would be a Hauppauge. Also, if you expect to use a x64 version of Windows, Hauppauge is the only card that I know of that supports this, and not all of them...PVR 150/350.
     
  17. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/497224