1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Should I use it for Linux?

Discussion in 'Linux and Unix' started by TheReaper, Jan 22, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. TheReaper

TheReaper Thread Starter

I have an old 1998 Dell that I could use to install Linux on, you know, something to play around with. What version of Linux would work with 6GB HD space, 60MB of memory, a floppy and cd drive, internet connection and all that stuff, and what would be most fun to play with and most easy to use. I would appreciate it if you could tell me where I can find some documentation too, thx a lot! ;)

2. Xephar

Xephar

I had Linux Mandrake 9 running on a Pentium 166 with 64 MB of ram once... It worked quite well. I am still a linux noob though so don't take my word for it, but I think you would be fine with Mandrake, Fedora or SuSE. Each of those have an easy installer or so I am told.

3. Squashman

Squashman Trusted Advisor

I have run Red hat 9 on a Pentium 200 with 40mb of ram.

4. short101

short101

You could probably run any linux distro, its the window managers and programs that you run that will give you problems with that amount of ram, and processor. Just use light a window manager and get used to the command line instead of gui's. You'll might have a hard time getting your modem working though. Google "newbie best linux distro" and you will find lots of threads on that sort of question.

5. tdi_veedub

tdi_veedub

Or use an older version of a distro.

For instance, instead of using RedHat 9, try Redhat 7, or mandrake 7.

6. TheReaper

TheReaper Thread Starter