Should I use it for Linux?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

TheReaper

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 22, 2005
Messages
121
I have an old 1998 Dell that I could use to install Linux on, you know, something to play around with. What version of Linux would work with 6GB HD space, 60MB of memory, a floppy and cd drive, internet connection and all that stuff, and what would be most fun to play with and most easy to use. I would appreciate it if you could tell me where I can find some documentation too, thx a lot! ;)
 
Joined
Aug 26, 2002
Messages
170
I had Linux Mandrake 9 running on a Pentium 166 with 64 MB of ram once... It worked quite well. I am still a linux noob though so don't take my word for it, but I think you would be fine with Mandrake, Fedora or SuSE. Each of those have an easy installer or so I am told.
 

Squashman

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Apr 4, 2003
Messages
19,786
I have run Red hat 9 on a Pentium 200 with 40mb of ram.
 
Joined
Dec 17, 2003
Messages
108
You could probably run any linux distro, its the window managers and programs that you run that will give you problems with that amount of ram, and processor. Just use light a window manager and get used to the command line instead of gui's. You'll might have a hard time getting your modem working though. Google "newbie best linux distro" and you will find lots of threads on that sort of question.
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2004
Messages
460
Or use an older version of a distro.

For instance, instead of using RedHat 9, try Redhat 7, or mandrake 7.
 

TheReaper

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 22, 2005
Messages
121
Thanks guys. I chose Red Hat 7 because I checked out the Linux for dummies book and it came with the distro and Red Hat gives good support for a noob like me. I copies the cds and when I'm ready to use the old Dell LX and wait for my parents to get a new one by the end of the summer for the family, my pa said i could mess around with a linux distro up in my room. im still a linux noob, itl bee fun. thanks for your support

thanks,
Reaper
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2004
Messages
7
Yep, pretty much anything will work. Go with your preference.

short101 said:
You could probably run any linux distro, its the window managers and programs that you run that will give you problems with that amount of ram, and processor. Just use light a window manager and get used to the command line instead of gui's. You'll might have a hard time getting your modem working though. Google "newbie best linux distro" and you will find lots of threads on that sort of question.
 
Joined
May 15, 2004
Messages
43
as soon as you have a bit of linux knowledge try vectorlinux http://www.vectorlinux.com light, easy to install, slackware based, the fastest distro you'll ever try. if you have normal hardware and aren't afraid of a text based interface (until you get X working) it will be great
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top