1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Should this work Access Database

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by pc_doctor, Feb 28, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. pc_doctor

    pc_doctor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    484
    Hi there,

    Just checking with you guys.

    Will this database work if a job needed one or more parts?

    I can post a print screen of the relationships between the tables.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. OBP

    OBP Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    19,694
    pc_doctor, that looks great to me, the perfect One to Many links with a linking Many to Many table and subform.
    My only suggestions would be to use queries to supply the data to your forms and to change your Subform from a Datasheet to a "Continuous" Form. Add a Combo to the Mainform to select the "Display Name" field.
     
  3. pc_doctor

    pc_doctor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    484
    Hi there OBP.
    Thats good to know!!! I was worried.
    What would i need in the querys section??
    How would i add a quotes section to the database?
     
  4. OBP

    OBP Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    19,694
    pc_doctor, for a start just create simple select queries for each table and ue those as data sources for the Forms.
    I will discuss Quotes with you tomorrow, my wife wnats to use the computer.:)
     
  5. pc_doctor

    pc_doctor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    484
    How do you mean....just make queries for each table....so the entities in the table are those the same in the query?

    Thanks for discussing the Quotes bit.

    Jon
     
  6. pc_doctor

    pc_doctor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    484
    I am having problems creating these forms...for use so that mulitple parts can be entered into the invoice.
     
  7. OBP

    OBP Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    19,694
    Jon, bear with me while I have a look at your database.
     
  8. OBP

    OBP Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    19,694
    jon, have a look at the attached Database, I have provided you with the Basic structure of your invoicing system.
    Let me know if you need any more help or explanations.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. pc_doctor

    pc_doctor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    484
    That is alot more clearer. I can see you have put some test data in there aswell...and it works!!
    Thanks.

    Is it easy to add in a quotation area?

    I'll have a more in depth look later on..about an hour...

    Thanks again OBP.

    Jon
     
  10. OBP

    OBP Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    19,694
    Jon, a quotation should not be a problem.
     
  11. pc_doctor

    pc_doctor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    484
    But can it be converted to an invoice like..you know at a touch of a button, type of thing??

    I dont see how this would intergrate into the system.
     
  12. OBP

    OBP Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    19,694
    Yes no problem.
     
  13. pc_doctor

    pc_doctor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    484
    How can it be done :S Are you working on it?
    Thanks OBP.

    Jon
     
  14. OBP

    OBP Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    19,694
    tomorrow
     
  15. OBP

    OBP Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    19,694
    Jon, this version has some additions, first of all the job table now has Quotation and Invoice Yes/No fields, along with the query and main form.
    I have added an Option group to the Mainform along with a Print Preview Command Button.
    I have created Quotes and Invoice Reports.
    So if you choose Quotation on the form it "previews" the Quotes Report and if you choose Invoice it shows you the Invoice Report.
    I have not bothered to "format" the reports or add "Totals" etc.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/548018

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice