1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Show Desktop (Quick Launch problem)

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by marie500, Sep 30, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. marie500

marie500 Thread Starter

I thought I was dragging the Real One Player icon out of the tray onto the desktop, but it turned out to be the Show Desktop icon from Quick Launch. (I'm new to XP.) I dragged it back into the quick launch area, but it only created a shortcut. The real, original icon remains on the desktop. And if I move (or delete) it, the shortcut does not work.

I had to restore it after deleting, and it returned to the desktop, not the Quick Launch. Also tried getting rid of the Quick Launch toolbar and rebooting, hoping it would reconfigure itself when I applied Quick Launch toolbar again - no luck. I read how to recreate the file in Notepad, and I guess I can do that, but...I ALREADY have the file and icon, everything I need, don't I?...except it's ON the desktop....

2. marie500

marie500 Thread Starter

I followed the directions in this MS article - How to Recreate Show Desktop in Quick Launch:

http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=190355