Shutdown hangs

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Bitsy

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 15, 2006
Messages
15
My Compaq Presario laptop hangs when I try to shut it down, and it doesn't enter hibernation or standby right either. I'm running XP Home, with SP1 and SP2. Updates are current, and I have ZoneAlarm, v.5.5.094.000, and AVG antivirus, v. 7.1.371. Here are the symptoms:

SHUTDOWN -- Regardless of the method used to initiate the shutdown, and regardless of the choice of Shutdown or Restart, the shutdown window appears, but that's as far as things go. I've left it for over 15 minutes, and the fan remained on, along with the "Windows is shutting down..." screen. Eventually I depress the power button for several seconds to shut it down.

No key intervention does anything.

HIBERNATION -- Regardless of the method used to initiate hibernation (power button, Start menu, Fn/f12), the "Preparing to hibernate" screen appears and the screen goes blank, but the screen remains luminous, and the power stays on. The fan continues to run. I left it in this state while unplugged, and the battery ran down rather quickly.

The power button does not wake the machine from hibernation.

STANDBY -- same as hibernation problem.

I tried closing everything in the System Tray before shutting down, and I tried closing nearly every non-critical process before I hit one that automatically initiated a shutdown, but it still hung.

I'm at a loss for other things to try, and will appreciate any suggestions.

Bitsy
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855

Bitsy

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 15, 2006
Messages
15
Thanks for the suggestions. The problem became noticeable four days ago after I installed the latest round of Windows updates. Coincidence? Probably. I did a system restore to well before the updates, cancelling the updates, and that didn't help. As I think about it, the machine has not reliably been going into standby for some time, but I hadn't paid much heed, because it was always plugged in when I noticed. No other software or alterations have been made since the problem went critical.

Safe Mode shutdown -- same problem

The HijackThis log shows lots of junk in there, like AOL stuff, lots of Google things I don't want, etc. Looks like a registry clean may be in order! Log follows:

Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1
Scan saved at 4:43:47 PM, on 1/16/2006
Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP2 (6.00.2900.2180)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\Ati2evxx.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\Program Files\Synaptics\SynTP\SynTPLpr.exe
C:\Program Files\Synaptics\SynTP\SynTPEnh.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\carpserv.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgcc.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgemc.exe
C:\Program Files\Microsoft AntiSpyware\gcasServ.exe
C:\Program Files\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\zlclient.exe
C:\Program Files\NETGEAR\WG511\Utility\WG511WLU.exe
C:\Program Files\Adobe\Photoshop Elements 3.0\PhotoshopElementsFileAgent.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\AOL\ACS\AOLacsd.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgamsvr.exe
C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgupsvc.exe
C:\Program Files\ewido\security suite\ewidoctrl.exe
C:\Program Files\Adobe\Photoshop Elements 3.0\PhotoshopElementsDeviceConnect.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\ZoneLabs\vsmon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\wanmpsvc.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\MsPMSPSv.exe
C:\Program Files\Microsoft AntiSpyware\gcasDtServ.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe
C:\Program Files\Hijack This\hijackthis.exe

O2 - BHO: Yahoo! Companion BHO - {02478D38-C3F9-4efb-9B51-7695ECA05670} - C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn\ycomp5_5_7_0.dll
O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 7.0\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
O2 - BHO: Google Toolbar Helper - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar1.dll
O3 - Toolbar: Yahoo! Toolbar - {EF99BD32-C1FB-11D2-892F-0090271D4F88} - C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Companion\Installs\cpn\ycomp5_5_7_0.dll
O3 - Toolbar: &Google - {2318C2B1-4965-11d4-9B18-009027A5CD4F} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar1.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Display Settings] C:\Program Files\HPQ\Notebook Utilities\hptasks.exe /s
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Cpqset] C:\Program Files\HPQ\Default Settings\cpqset.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SynTPLpr] C:\Program Files\Synaptics\SynTP\SynTPLpr.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SynTPEnh] C:\Program Files\Synaptics\SynTP\SynTPEnh.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CARPService] carpserv.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG7_CC] C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgcc.exe /STARTUP
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AVG7_EMC] C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgemc.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [gcasServ] "C:\Program Files\Microsoft AntiSpyware\gcasServ.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Zone Labs Client] C:\Program Files\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\zlclient.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [WG511WLU] C:\Program Files\NETGEAR\WG511\Utility\WG511WLU.exe
O8 - Extra context menu item: &AOL Toolbar search - res://C:\Program Files\AOL Toolbar\toolbar.dll/SEARCH.HTML
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Google Search - res://c:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar1.dll/cmsearch.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Translate English Word - res://c:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar1.dll/cmwordtrans.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Backward Links - res://c:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar1.dll/cmbacklinks.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Cached Snapshot of Page - res://c:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar1.dll/cmcache.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~3\Office10\EXCEL.EXE/3000
O8 - Extra context menu item: Similar Pages - res://c:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar1.dll/cmsimilar.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Translate Page into English - res://c:\program files\google\GoogleToolbar1.dll/cmtrans.html
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\j2re1.4.2\bin\npjpi142.dll
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\j2re1.4.2\bin\npjpi142.dll
O9 - Extra button: AOL Toolbar - {4982D40A-C53B-4615-B15B-B5B5E98D167C} - C:\Program Files\AOL Toolbar\toolbar.dll
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: AOL Toolbar - {4982D40A-C53B-4615-B15B-B5B5E98D167C} - C:\Program Files\AOL Toolbar\toolbar.dll
O9 - Extra button: Research - {92780B25-18CC-41C8-B9BE-3C9C571A8263} - C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~3\OFFICE11\REFIEBAR.DLL
O9 - Extra button: Real.com - {CD67F990-D8E9-11d2-98FE-00C0F0318AFE} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\Shdocvw.dll
O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
O9 - Extra button: WeatherBug - {AF6CABAB-61F9-4f12-A198-B7D41EF1CB52} - C:\PROGRA~1\AWS\WEATHE~1\Weather.exe (HKCU)
O14 - IERESET.INF: START_PAGE_URL=http://qus8l.hpwis.com
O16 - DPF: {17492023-C23A-453E-A040-C7C580BBF700} (Windows Genuine Advantage Validation Tool) - http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=39204
O16 - DPF: {9A9307A0-7DA4-4DAF-B042-5009F29E09E1} (ActiveScan Installer Class) - http://acs.pandasoftware.com/activescan/as5free/asinst.cab
O16 - DPF: {9B03C5F1-F5AB-47EE-937D-A8EDA626F876} (Anonymizer Anti-Spyware Scanner) - http://download.zonelabs.com/bin/promotions/spywaredetector/WebAAS.cab
O16 - DPF: {DF780F87-FF2B-4DF8-92D0-73DB16A1543A} (PopCapLoader Object) - http://download.games.yahoo.com/games/web_games/popcap/bejeweled2/popcaploader_v6.cab
O16 - DPF: {F5C90925-ABBF-4475-88F5-8622B452BA9E} (Compaq System Data Class) - http://www29itg.zcce.compaq.com/falco/helpandsupport/SysQuery.cab
O23 - Service: Adobe Active File Monitor (AdobeActiveFileMonitor) - Unknown owner - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Photoshop Elements 3.0\PhotoshopElementsFileAgent.exe
O23 - Service: AOL Connectivity Service (AOL ACS) - America Online, Inc. - C:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\AOL\ACS\AOLacsd.exe
O23 - Service: Ati HotKey Poller - Unknown owner - C:\WINDOWS\System32\Ati2evxx.exe
O23 - Service: AVG7 Alert Manager Server (Avg7Alrt) - GRISOFT, s.r.o. - C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgamsvr.exe
O23 - Service: AVG7 Update Service (Avg7UpdSvc) - GRISOFT, s.r.o. - C:\PROGRA~1\Grisoft\AVGFRE~1\avgupsvc.exe
O23 - Service: ewido security suite control - ewido networks - C:\Program Files\ewido\security suite\ewidoctrl.exe
O23 - Service: HP Configuration Interface Service (HPConfig) - Hewlett-Packard - C:\WINDOWS\system32\HPConfig.exe
O23 - Service: Photoshop Elements Device Connect (PhotoshopElementsDeviceConnect) - Unknown owner - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Photoshop Elements 3.0\PhotoshopElementsDeviceConnect.exe
O23 - Service: TrueVector Internet Monitor (vsmon) - Zone Labs, LLC - C:\WINDOWS\system32\ZoneLabs\vsmon.exe
O23 - Service: WAN Miniport (ATW) Service (WANMiniportService) - America Online, Inc. - C:\WINDOWS\wanmpsvc.exe

Thanks again, and I'll stay tuned.

Bitsy
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
It's quite rare to see such a problem in Safe Mode. Did you use "normal" Safe Mode or Safe Mode with Networking support? If the latter, test without networking support.

Are there any circumstances at all under which it doesn't happen? For example if you shutdown for an extended period of time -- then restart and shutdown again?

Also, run eventvwr.msc and look under the System and Applications logs. Do you see any errors there specifically associated with attempts to shut down? Check the time stamps carefully.

One thing that needs to be looked into that can cause all these symptoms are issues with Advanced Power Management or ACPI.

Follow the instructions below to review steps 1, 2 and 3 in the article below. Note, APM may not be present -- this is not a problem IF your computer is ACPI compliant (see steps 2 and 3). You should see an entry for Microsoft ACPI Compliant System under System devices. No marks should be by it and its status should be "working properly".

http://support.microsoft.com/Default.aspx?kbid=810903
 

Bitsy

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 15, 2006
Messages
15
I just retried the Safe Mode shutdown, making sure that I was in the base mode, administrator account, and still had the problem.

I did a screen shot of the Event viewer before shutting down, but that isn't needed. I just opened the Event Viewer again and found seven new errors. The source of three is DCOM, and the event is 10005. One is at 7:35:22 with SYSTEM as user, the second at 7:37:09 with Administrator, and the third at 7:37:24 with SYSTEM. The source of the other four is Service Control Manager. User is N/A. They all occurred at 7:35:17 and the events are 7026 (once) and 7001 (three).

The same DCOM error is listed earlier today with my own user account (which has full administrator privileges). I'm guessing that the DCOM error only occurs with the Safe Mode, because it doesn't occur at other times, and the Service Control Manager source appeared from last night's abortive attempts (earliest recorded). Other Event Codes listed earlier with the SCM source include 7000, 7031 and 7034.

That having been analyzed, I checked on the ACPI angle. The APM tab isn't there , but it does show up under Computer on Device Manager. Properties for this device indicate it's working properly.

I took Zone Alarm out of the start-up loop, and uninstalled Roxio. I don't have a Logitech mouse installed.

I haven't pursued updating drivers, because this was working a few days ago. Perhaps a driver became corrupted, but . . . Dang!

Any further ideas?

Bitsy
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2003
Messages
1,230
See if this Reg Hack will help you with your shutdown

this has to do with your pagefile being cleared at shutdown (which in most cases, does not need to happen )

good luck !!!

Swiper


PS: rename fastshutdown.doc to fastshutdown.reg and run it
 

Attachments

Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
The Dcom errors are "normal" after a Safe Mode boot.

If it was working a few days ago and you did a successful system restore to a prior date -- it should have fixed any driver problem that might have come up after that.

Is the problem constant or intermittant? And it doesn't matter if the system is allowed to cool for a half hour and then started and immediately shut down?

Post the non Dcom errors. Double click them to access their description. There is a double-paper copy icon on the description window that can be used for copy/pasting.
 

Bitsy

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 15, 2006
Messages
15
Okay fellows, the registry hack didn't work. I just delved in and did it by hand rather than running the file. I'm using my desktop to view and post to this forum to avoid constantly having to find it again after all the reboots, so that was easier.

One other thing I just noticed -- the msconfig change to take ZoneAlarm out of the start-up routine isn't working. Apparently something is going astray in registering this on shutdown... I'd prefer not to uninstall ZA.... I have not upgraded to the latest version because of all the warnings about malfunctions.

Now I'm going to call it a night on all the reboots and let the system cool. That sounds like a good plan. I'll check back in the am.

Thanks for all your help. We'll have vital brains forever because of all this trouble-shooting we do. We just have to be Alzheimer proof until the age of 223! That's my mantra at times like this. <G>

Bitsy
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
To completely disable ZoneAlarm you would have to find it's entries under the services tab as well as startups. You should use the option to "hide all Microsoft Services" before making changes there.

I don't believe ZoneAlarm loads anything in Safe Mode, but I could be mistaken.

If you did NOT upgrade ZoneAlarm just before or after your upgrade to SP2 -- that could well be a problem.
 

Bitsy

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 15, 2006
Messages
15
Good evening. I wish I could tell you that having been shut down for about twenty hours enabled my puter to behave, but alas, that is not the case. There is no change.

Tomorrow I shall take the drastic step now of uninstalling Zone Alarm, but not until after I use the computer for accessing the Internet at the library, which has a wide-open connection. At home I'm protected by a router. BTW, I installed Zone Alarm more recently than my 13-month-old SP2 upgrade, and I allowed ZA to update until the very last one. I am running version 5.5.094.000, the next-to-latest. Fortunately I do have installation files for this older version.

I've done scans with AdAware (no new items), Ewido Suite (several new items) and AVG antivirus (no problems).

What additional ideas might you have?

Bitsy
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
Can you post the NON Dcom errors you are getting in the Event Viewer, the ones you don't associate with a Safe Mode boot?

This is easy to do. Just double click them to view their full description and then use the double-paper "copy" icon to copy the description to the clipboard. You can then right click on a reply window here and select "paste". Or paste them all into a notepad file and upload that.

If you uninstall ZoneAlarm, be sure you enable the XP firewall before going on the net.
 

Attachments

Bitsy

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 15, 2006
Messages
15
One more thing -- I just tried installing the superfast shutdown utility that a friend recommended some time back. Not only does that not work, it totally hangs the system. Not the answer. I just restored the system to the point before removing Easy CD Creator, since uninstalling that software didn't help.

Bitsy
 

Bitsy

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 15, 2006
Messages
15
Hello again,

After a couple of days to catch my breath and do a few other things, I'm back at the detective work with the Event Viewer open to the Applications tab. I see only one error in the time frame of the problem, and that's on 1/4, related to my wireless card. I did have a problem with that, and reinstalled the drivers, but that was earlier. I don't think that's the problem.

Moving back to the System tab, all the non DCOM errors come from Service Control Manager. The two today (one for each boot) are Event 7000. Events 7001, 7023, 7026 7031, and 7034 are also listed. Event 7000 properties read, "The IC Recorder Driver service failed to start due to the following error: The service cannot be started, either because it is disabled or because it has no enabled devices associated with it. No info is available via the hotlink to Microsoft's help or knowledge base.

Event 7001: The TCP/IP netBIOS Helper service depends on the AFD Networking Support Environment service which failed to start because of the following error: A device attached to the system is not functioning. (I don't have an ethernet cable plugged in... but I haven't had an ethernet cable plugged in for 18 months!) This error occurred on two successive boots with three instance recorded each time. No info available

Evemt 7023: The Application Management service terminated with the following error: The specified module could not be found. This error was logged 101 times within a period of 10 seconds on only one occasion. No further info.

Event 7026: The following boot-start or system-start driver9s) failed to load:
AFD
AmdK7
Avg7Core
Avg7RsW
Avg7RsXP
Fips
IPSec
MRxSmb
NetBIOS
NetBT
RasAcd
Rdbss
Tcpip
vsdatant
WS2IFSL

This one occurred on two boots, once each, several boots ago. No further info

7031: The Print Spooler service terminated unexpectedly. It has done this 2 time(s). The following corrective action will be taken in 60000 milliseconds: Restart the service. This happened three times within a period of about two minutes. It's unclear whether this was a shutdown cycle. No further information.

7034: Various devices terminated 1 time unexpectedly. Based on the close time array for all these errors, I'm assuming this related to the occasion when I tried shutting down services manually before restarting. That didn't work, but this error does not seem likely to be part of the problem.

Is it possible that things are not loading properly at the top, causing shutdown problems at the bottom?

I have not yet uninstalled Zone Alarm, but be assured, I will reactivate the XP Firewall. I'm also behind a router with a deeply defended wireless system, so the risk is low.

That's the news from here. Thanks for hanging in,

Bitsy
 
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
45,855
I would definitely uninstall Zone Alarm and then recheck the Event Viewer to see if many of these errors are continuing.

It's possible Zone Alarm is failing to startup properly and this is causing other errors both in startup and shutdown.

Some of the service calls are for services that are not even present or active in XP (application management service doesn't exist,

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/328213/en-us


and AFD is a legacy service that I believe Zone Alarm may try to run in some cases. It's not normally active).

This is a failed service to be concerned about and check to see if there are future errors with it:

AmdK7

Advanced Micro Devices (AMD) offers PowerNow! technology on AMD mobile Athlon 4 and mobile Duron processors. The PowerNow! technology adjusts the processor's performance and power consumption by dynamically adjusting the processor's operating frequency and voltage. Windows XP requires an additional driver (the Amdk7.sys driver) to enable the AMD PowerNow! functionality. Laptop computers that are based on these mobile AMD processors and are shipped with Windows XP installed by the manufacturer are likely to have this driver already installed. If you reinstall Windows XP, you must also install the Amdk7.sys driver to use the PowerNow! technology.
Check to seee that Amdk7.sys exists in the c:\windows\system32 folder.

I include the article for reference, don't use it to install or change anything:

http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;306458&Product=winxp
 

Bitsy

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 15, 2006
Messages
15
ZoneAlarm is history.

Amdk7.sys is not in system32. The chip in my machine is X86 Famil 6 Model 10 Stepping 0 Autentic AMD ~2120Mhz. I don't know if that comes under the umbrella of Athlon 4 or mobil Duron processors. All recommended Windows updates are in place, except the latest media player (which I don't want) and a driver upgrade for my wireless card. I installed that previously and it messed my card up to the point that I had to uninstall and start over -- I chose to start over with the original driver that had worked fine!

So it doesn't seem likely that the Q306458 download is called for. On the other hand, that number is not listed in the Uninstall list in Windows.

Anything else worth trying, short of a Windows reinstall? Is this looking more like a hardware problem?

Enough for tonight!

Bitsy
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top