Sigmatel Software Not working Please Help

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

I HAVE NO SOUND!

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 26, 2008
Messages
14
Hi
For about 6 months I have been trying to fix my sound issue it killing me I have a
Dell vostro 1700(laptop)
Vista business 32 bit
And a broken sigmatel driver

I have tried to call dell several times and as you will know if you have ever rang a call centre none of them can help and most of them don’t even care

So far I have found out that it is defiantly not a hardware issue because I used dell diagnostics CD and got a tune from it so it’s only software related which is a good thing I guess but I have tried over 100 hours to get it Working again and have downloaded several different drivers and all have failed I need a serious tech head who will give me some time and get this thing straightened out and who will be forever thanked for it

Please help thank you
 

I HAVE NO SOUND!

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 26, 2008
Messages
14
then my full apologys to you

i just dident know where to putit so i thought maximise input for better results
thanks for greeting me and once again sory if i annoyed anyone by doing this

but please still help me
 

cwwozniak

Chuck
Moderator
Joined
Nov 28, 2005
Messages
68,355
I am not very familiar with Vista (and dread every minute of becoming familiar with it on my newer laptop) And not sure how much I can help with bad drivers.

Have you tried entering the service tag number of your computer on the Dell support web site? That should then give you links for downloading the correct drivers for your particular hardware and operating system.

FWiW, I have found Dell's telephone support staff to be very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful whenever I have called them with problems. Then again we have a commercial account with service contracts on some of our Dell hardware.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
82,887
Go here and scroll down to Sigmatel and see if that's the sound driver that you're looking for.

--------------------------------------------------------------------
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2007
Messages
155
Not sure how you installed the drivers but this should be the fool proof way, try this and if it doesn't work I will continue trying to help.

Download the latest drivers for your Sound Card
http://support.dell.com/support/top...plash?c=us&l=en&s=gen&~mode=popup&file=235779

Unplug your Ethernet Cable and make sure Wifi is disabled
Boot your computer in safe mode (Usually press F8 on the POST screen)
Go into you Device Manager (Start->Control Panel->Device Manager)
Open the "Sound, video and game controllers" drop down box
Uninstall the Drivers for Your sound card and check "Delete Driver Software for this Device"
Reboot into normal mode
Install the new Drivers
Reboot
Plug your Ethernet Cable Back in and/or enable Wifi

I say unplug your Ethernet because what may have caused the problem is Vista automatically downloaded and installed the wrong drivers, its happened to me before.

I hope this helps
 

I HAVE NO SOUND!

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 26, 2008
Messages
14
i have tryed both the drivers on this page but both are the same result thank you for the link


how easy is it to re install my vista
i have the os disk
 

I HAVE NO SOUND!

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 26, 2008
Messages
14
ok i have done what you said with 4 difrent drivers one from recovery parition one from the drivers cd one from the dell site and one from a driver download site all failed the same red x is there although device maneger says the device is working properly no cod4 wont load neither will my another program it says need ful duplex sound card or something


i cant think of anything

exept for .... reinstalling vista is that hard? i have the disk
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
82,887
Did Vista come pre-installed in that laptop or did you upgrade to it from XP after you bought it?

---------------------------------------------------------------
 

EAFiedler

Retired Moderator
Joined
Apr 25, 2000
Messages
14,172
Threads merged.
Please continue replies for this issue in this thread.

Thank you.
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2007
Messages
155
Installing Vista is fairly easy, but all data will be lost, and I'm not sure that it will fix the problem.

Another thing you can try is
Start->Control Panel->Sound
Under the playback tab, if you have more then one device listed try going through them and setting each to "Set Default" and test playback.

Make sure that you have the right drivers, the link I provided should be the proper one if you laptop is indeed a Dell Vostro 1700
 

I HAVE NO SOUND!

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 26, 2008
Messages
14
i have tryed the new driver and the one you inked me but it failed why do you not think reinstallling will fix it



i dont mind about loosing everything i will back it up to my second hard drive then remove it before re install(reinstall is what dell said to do)



vista business came pre installed

if i did a reinstall would i need any codes or keys and where would they be on my computer because its not on the disk
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top