1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

SIM card initialization

Discussion in 'Other Mobile Devices' started by JanetDH, Dec 9, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. JanetDH

    JanetDH Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    I have a LGC441 flip phone and recently after having turned it on after having had it turned off for a while I saw "SIM card initializing" on the screen. I never saw that before. What does it mean? I have a roommate. Could he have changed something on my phone? Just wondering.
     
  2. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    55,904
    First Name:
    Derek
    That is quite normal when phone has been turned off for a while or sim card has been removed.
    If the phone was off completely or battery was completely flat or removed. it will initialise the sim card when first turned on again

    I suppose it is possible a room mate could have removed & replaced sim card. Why not ask them?
     
  3. JanetDH

    JanetDH Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    SIM card was not removed to my knowledge. Roommate would not admit to taking out SIM card. Why would someone admit it?
    Battery was not flat and message never showed up before when phone left off for a while. Would it still be normal?
     
  4. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    55,904
    First Name:
    Derek
    possibly he borrowed your phone because his had gone wrong & used his sim card in it

    I don't think anybody can answer your question though. Sim cards do reinitialise when removed or phone has been off for some time. I have an old basic phone that I keep as an emergency backup in my car on a PAYG & only turn it on about every 3 months or so to make sure it is charged. It always initialises sim after being off for that length of time.
     
  5. JanetDH

    JanetDH Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks, dvk01. It was probably nothing.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1200877

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice