1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Simple Excel VBA question

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by sarumitai, Apr 10, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. sarumitai

sarumitai Thread Starter

I have done some elaborate things in Excel VBA before, I even automated my week's work into one huge Macro, and yet today I have turned temporarily stupid. Granted I am usually piecing together code snippets since I'm not a true programmer, but this seems so simple.

I'm trying to make a worksheet that conjugates Japanese verbs. I can do everything except this one simple little thing. When users click on a word on Worksheet C, there is a button they press that copies the word and pastes it into cell A1 of Worksheet A. For some reason I can't get it to post into A1, it throws an error and I don't know why. I have run through the process and recorded the macro several times and it records it fine, but when I run it, I get this error.

Selection.Copy

Sheets("Display").Select
    Range("B1").Select

Selection.PasteSpecial Paste:=xlPasteValues, Operation:=xlNone, SkipBlanks _
    :=False, Transpose:=False
    Application.CutCopyMode = False

The troublemaker is Range("B1").Select. Everything else works fine. I simply want the copied data to be pasted into cell B1, but it won't.

2. OBP

OBP Trusted Advisor

3. sarumitai

sarumitai Thread Starter

I'm reading through it now and it seems to be what I need. I've never even thought of questioning the use of select so this is new to me.

Thanks.

4. Zack Barresse

Zack Barresse

Thanks for the vote Tony. LOL!