1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved Site Unreachable, tracert times out immediately.

Discussion in 'Networking' started by NaiveUser, Feb 15, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. NaiveUser

    NaiveUser Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    So my computer can't connect to websites, says they're Unreachable. This is true for nearly every site I try. I did a tracert for en.wikipedia.org which gave me:
    1 * * * Request timed out.
    2 * * * Request timed out.
    ...
    11 * * * Request timed out.
    12 42 ms 42 ms 46 ms text-lb.eqiad.Wikimedia.org [208.80.154.224]

    The Internet isn't down though, I am still capable of accessing a few Google sites. Google Search and YouTube are both working fine, and I can still watch YouTube videos, but every non-Google site is Unreachable.

    Please help?
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    63,310
    lets see an ipconfig and do a tcp/ip reset

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all


    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - Please post back the results in a reply here.

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC
    You will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.
    If you do not have another PC
    Do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply
    Note: you will see entries named Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface: we dont need to see that information - JUST the information above those entries​

    For Windows 8 or Windows 10
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop.
    Use Windows + X Keys together and choose Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.
    Or Right click on the windows icon - bottom left hand side - A menu appears - choose Command Prompt (Admin)

    For windows version, XP, Vista, W7
    Hold the Windows key and press R
    Now type CMD
    Now press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):​

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Lets try doing a tcp/ip reset and see if that resolves your issue

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista, Windows 7, Windows 8/8.1 and Windows 10


    For Windows 8 or Windows 10
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop.
    Use Windows + X Keys together and choose Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.
    Or Right click on the windows icon - bottom left hand side - A menu appears - choose Command Prompt (Admin)

    For windows Vista or Windows 7
    Hold the Windows key and press R
    Now type CMD
    Now press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):​
    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold and red for the following commands.

    • Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog and press enter
    • Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log and press enter
    • Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log and press enter
    ReStart (reboot) the machine.

    If you receive the message
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen )​
    Please note and post back - if you receive the following message :-
    Resetting , failed. - This error will occur with windows 10 , so ignore.
    Access is denied. - This error will occur with windows 8 and windows 10 , so ignore.
    But running TCP/IP reset still can resolve issues , even with the above errors.

    please post back the results in a reply here - its important we know that these commands have worked correctly and not produced any errors
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste​

    Details also here
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357
    also the link has a Microsoft download Fix it , which will do the above for you

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  4. NaiveUser

    NaiveUser Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks, your instructions were extremely helpful.
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    63,310
    and > does it work now ?
     
  6. NaiveUser

    NaiveUser Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    I thought it was implied.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1185377