1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

SKYPE - free voip conferencing-but safe??

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by cory79, Mar 27, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. cory79

cory79 Thread Starter

Hello
    I am an admin for a small company of 60 users and the "Big Wig" recently discovered Skype which he uses for personal use. I was told to download this free software on all of our PC's. Since I never just go out and download something that I don't have any knowledge of I checked out the website. From what I gathered this is a P2P software. I did some more digging around and am getting conflicting information about the security of this software. We do have a firewall, anti-spyware, anti-virus ect... but I still do not feel like this is a safe product to use on a business network. What do you guys think?? I would love any and all advice. Thanks in advance for any help.:)

2. Stoner

Stoner Banned

Hi cory79.

I don't use Skype, but I was involved in a discussion here at TSG over it because it is p2p .
    I found that Skype goes through a firewall without being challenged. Essentially it bypasses detection.
    That seems like a weakness for security and in a business setting, I'd be darned sure it's not an important issue.
    There also seems to be some issue about Skype reading and storing the Bios info and Motherboard ID

This was the thread:
    http://forums.techguy.org/civilized-debate/666251-confused.html

3. Squashman

Squashman Trusted Advisor

I know alot of businesses are using it to save money on their phone bills. Instead of making a phone call to one of their Regional offices, they just call them over Skype. I thought everyone would have known about Skype by now. The latest thing I am looking into though is the MagicJack.