1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

slave drive

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by ROBBOB, Jan 31, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ROBBOB

    ROBBOB Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    added slave drive.its listed as F drive. it should be D right? when using C drive having problem sending to new slave drive
     
  2. cwby74

    cwby74

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    88
    you can always change the drive letter paths if you need to except for your initial drive. as in what kind of problems are you running into when trying to transfer files over to the new drive.
     
  3. sy2

    sy2

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,844
    Disregard this post.

    Already moved (y)
     
  4. bill.aam

    bill.aam

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,218
    You can change the drive letter if you like,

    Right click on "MY COMPUTER"
    Click on "MANAGE"
    Under storage
    Click on "DISK MANAGEMENT"
    Right Click on the drive in question, Click on "Change Drive Letter and Paths"
    Click on "Change"
    You can click on the down arrow and choose the drive letter of your choice.

    (I choose to make my USB jumpdrive "drive B")

    This is assuming you have Windows XP..
     
  5. xtreampb

    xtreampb

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    189
    alright the drive names are as fallows
    (keep in mind that these can be changed according to the user)

    a-b floppy

    c-d hdd (depands on the partition of the drive)

    e-f cd/dvd (will be assighned D if a D drive is not present

    g+ usb-ieee(fire wire) serial maby even com1-2

    these are defaults and can be changed
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/539992

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice