1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Slide Show To VCD

Discussion in 'Digital Photography & Imaging' started by Scramble, Aug 3, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Scramble

    Scramble Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Hi Everyone, Hope someone out there can help. My O/S is XP Home and I am burning Digital Still Images to CD (TDK CD/RW) using Photodex Proshow Gold to create a vcd. This I manage to do ok and they play back on my computer with no problems,but when inserted in my Panasonic E30 standalone player/recorder all I get is the Proshow Logo and no images appear even the disc continues to revolve,the E30 is VCD compliant and PBC is enabled.
    My E30 is connected to a Sony TV through a SKY receiver with scart leads.
    I have tried other cd`s both CD/R and CD/RW with the same result. Could some more knowledgable person please solve this problem for me.

    Regards Scramble
     
  2. storage_man

    storage_man

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    658
  3. gotrootdude

    gotrootdude

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    8,812
    Sounds like your DVD player has trouble useing menus.

    I use Xatshow for slideshows, which has the option not to use menus.
    http://www.xat.com/xatshow/

    Look in your software for menu options and see if there's a way to bypass them.


    P.S. I have the same problem on my Apex 660AD DVD player, everytime I burn a DVD for it, I have to set the settings in nero to make it play upon insertion instead of jumping to a menu..
     
  4. Raistlfiren

    Raistlfiren

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    303
    You guys know anything about Powerpoint?
    Raistlin
     
  5. Scramble

    Scramble Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Thank you all for your replies,I found the links from storage man and gotrooldude interesting,but i did not use any menus as this was my first attempt at this I burnt it as basic as possible ,ie I dragged the files from My Pictures into Proshow and the VCD burnt successfully from there.I have also just tried Roxio easy cd 6 with the same result. I don`t have Powerpoint Raistlfirer,but I am familiar with it. I will try Xatshow next and post my results.

    Regards Scramble.
     
  6. acraftylady

    acraftylady

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,069
    After you click make video CD watch and see if you are getting a screen with a message about I think PCB setting on the computer or some computer setting, cant' remember what it says but I have gotten that. We don't have a DVD player on our TV but my son has a PS2 and I tried to play one back on that but it wouldn't work so I need to use someone's DVD player or finally get one for our TV.

    Also if you click help and then click contents look under creating video CD's and you can check and see if you are setting it up right. I am using version 2.01 and I just got a notice about some upgrades to resolve some issue so also under help click upgrade and get those.
     
  7. Scramble

    Scramble Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks for your reply craftylady,I did say in my first post that PBC (Playback control) was enabled,in fact the Panasonic E30 gives you a choice of on or of which is then displayed in the units window. Thanks again for your input.

    Regards Scramble.
     
  8. acraftylady

    acraftylady

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,069
    OK if PCB is enabled on the computer then it should burn and play fine. Sorry I missed that in the original post. If you have all the updates from them concerning your burner and the program then I would e-mail the company and see what they have to say.
     
  9. Scramble

    Scramble Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Hi craftylady, The PBC (not PCB) is enabled on my standalone Panasonic E30 recorder/player not the computer. The option is also offered in the Photodex Program.
    I have spoken to Panasonic UK they could not help,I have also E Mailed Photodex who were very responsive and suggested updating to a later version,which I did,but with the same result. I have got the feeling that the answer to this is really quite simple,but it`s `finding the direction that`s the problem.

    Regards John (aka scramble)
     
  10. acraftylady

    acraftylady

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,069
    I have no clue but one day when I was making a VCD I got a screen that said something about PCB on my computer not being enabled and that the CD might not work in a DVD player because of this. I have only been able to try one show I made on someone's DVD player and it worked fine. We don't have one on our TV yet because we just don't rent a lot of movies. Maybe see if you can try it in another DVD player and see what happens.
     
  11. Scramble

    Scramble Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Hi Everyone,particularly gotrootdude,finally got round to trying XATSHOW.The images have sucessfully shown on my W/S TV,the only difference from other progams that I can see is the file format. Xatshow saved them as CIF where ROXIO 6 were JPEG and PROSHOW GOLD MPEG,does anyone know if this is the problem of why the images will not display in these two programs. Please appreciate that this is all new to me
    and file extensions paticularly

    Regards Scramble (aka)

    PS Gotrootdude your comments about Myrtle Beach are spot on.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/257555

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice