1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Slight shimmer (?) when reading text

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Cat_of_Ulthar, Aug 11, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Cat_of_Ulthar

Cat_of_Ulthar Thread Starter

A few days ago, I got a video card update. I installed it, and since then I have a slight "shimmer/ghosting/don't really know what to call it" when reading text. I tried a restore point, but it doesn't seem to do the trick.

The shimmer is barely visible, it just makes my eyes go fuzzy when reading text, especially black on a white background. It is hard to focus on one letter, as they seem to be hanging in the air in front of the monitor almost. As focusing on letters is what I do for a living, and I have to focus on tiny stripes of black on white (Arabic vocalization), it makes me not happy. I had this problem once before with this video card, and ended up buying a new monitor, which did the trick... until now.

I have an ATI Radeon HD 3800 series video card; and a BenQ G2420HDBL Digital monitor. Cables are all properly attached. I can't find this problem on Google. Any ideas?

2. JennyJackson01

JennyJackson01

Make sure you`ve installed the correct driver for your system and card as the wrong driver can give you some weird and wonderful combinations.

You don`t say what system you`re running but try going into display settings on the desktop and choose `Clear type` rather than `Standard` and also adjust the refresh rate to see if that helps.

Jenny

3. captainron276

captainron276 Ron

Please use the TSG System Info tool to let Tech's know the specs of your computer: http://static.techguy.org/download/SysInfo.exe Copy and paste the results here in your thread.