1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Slow broadband internet since installing firewall

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by danjoe211, Oct 7, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. danjoe211

    danjoe211 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    I use a broadband modem for internet access on my Toshiba Satellite L350D-214 with Windows 7. I live in a remote area and the signal is weak but until now the speed was acceptable for most applications. A feew days ago I installed AVG 2010 including the firewall. Since then, internet is very very slow. I suspect that the firewall is putting a load on the modem that has a big effect when the speed is already so so.

    I want to know if this is to be expected and are there some settings I should check out?
     
  2. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Try using Windows firewall

    How are you getting Internet Satellite?
     
  3. danjoe211

    danjoe211 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Satellite is the Toshiba laptop model - Not internet Satellite

    I wonder is it safe to depend on Windows Firewall?
     
  4. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    I know the laptop is a Satellite but when I was in a remote area that was the only Internet I could get was via satellite.

    And using windows firewall and not using AVGs would just be a test for now.

    Take a speedtest go here and click on Begin Test

    http://speedtest.net/

    Post results

    Ping
    Download
    Upload
     
  5. danjoe211

    danjoe211 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Thank you. I disabled AVG firewall and enabled Windows firewall. Restarted laptop. Found it faster but still slower than I expected. It's definitely faster without AVG firewall. I'm not sure if it's what I would have considered within the 'normal' range. Will watch it.

    Speedtest ran with difficulty - took ages - eventually gave these results:
    Ping 575 ms
    Download 0.04 Mb/s
    Upload 0.16 Mb/s

    My Windows firewall status reads:
    Public networks - Block all connections that are not on the list of approved programs
    Active public networks - Unidentified network
     
  6. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    You never said how your getting your Internet......by the phone ????

    and that speed results are are very very low speed.
     
  7. danjoe211

    danjoe211 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    My internet is wireless. O2 broadband. I don't have a phone connection. I tested on wifi yesterday and everything was fine.
     
  8. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Which package do you have the 8MB download speed?
     
  9. danjoe211

    danjoe211 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    I don't understand the question:
    Which package do you have the 8MB download speed?

    Speedtest gave MP3 file 5 MB 15 min - but I guess that's an estimate.
     
  10. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Sorry is this through your phone?
     
  11. danjoe211

    danjoe211 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    I have NO phone, just wireless. The Sierra Wireless connection manager says that I have 4 bars at the moment, but I don't think that's really accurate.
    My speed would be better in the morning here. Actually, internet was much slower with AVG firewall.
    [FONT=&quot][/FONT]
     
  12. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Have you tried in a different location in the house?
     
  13. danjoe211

    danjoe211 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Yes, I'm at the best available point in the house.
     
  14. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    I would call O2 broadband and tell them your speed results as that is way too slow
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/954856