1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Slow Compaq

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by cpchase, Jul 22, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. cpchase

    cpchase Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    34
    Yea, when ever i stay in town i use a family members PC, its Compaq roughly bought in 2004

    SPECS
    1.62 GHz
    20GB HDD
    120MB RAM

    I have Defragged it, clean it of all spyware/toolbars, Ran DustBusterXP, Registry Mechanic, AVG Scan, AdAware, Deleted Every single Temp file... and its still slow :(

    ...help.....gaaa....dying(slowly)
     
  2. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    Post a HijackThis scanlog -- also answer the "performance" questions below.

    Download and install HijackThis using the "self extractor". Run it and select "do a system scan and save the log file". Then copy/paste the contents of the log to a reply

    http://www.thespykiller.co.uk/files/hijackthis_sfx.exe



    PERFORMANCE QUESTIONS:

    1 > is it very slow to boot up?
    2 > do programs open slowly?
    3 > does the same behavior occur both offline and on?
    4 > does it matter how long the system has been on, and does a restart improve things?

    Slow performance issues can often be due to overheating, so if the system is faster after it has been shutdown for a while and then restarted -- that would be especially suspect. To check for possible problems here, shutdown, open the case and blow out any accumulated dust. Then turn it
    on and check to see that the fan is working. Sometimes it helps to physically clean the fan. Programs are available that can help monitor temperatures as well.

    5 > if you do a ctrl-alt-del, do any processes show excess cpu usage, other than System Idle Process?

    6 > If you open the Device Manager (windows+pause/break > Hardware > Device Manager) and select the entry for IDE ATA/Atapi and select the Primary IDE > Advanced Settings, does it say the "current transfer mode" is DMA or PIO?

    If it says PIO, first ensure "Use DMA if Available” is selected, then select the driver tab and uninstall the driver and reboot. Then check again.
    ____________________________________________________________________________
    COMMIT CHARGE

    Do ctrl-alt-del to open up the task manager. Select the "performance" tab. Let me know what you see under:

    Physical Memory

    Total: this is your total installed ram -- "physical" memory
    Available: this is the amt of real "physical" memory presently uncommitted

    Commit Charge

    Total: this is the combination of total physical and virtual memory currently in use
    Limit: this is the total physical and virtual memory available
    Peak: this is the most you have had in use in this session
     
  3. bearone2

    bearone2 Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    5,809
    check msconfig/startup and see how many boxes are checked.
    the more boxes checked, the longer to the desktop and the slower the computer operates.

    i only have symantec av loading and i'm at the desktop in 45 sec.

    i set the min and max values the same value in virtual memory @1 1/2 times ram.
     
  4. pkokkinis

    pkokkinis

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Messages:
    69
    uninstall DustBusterXP, Registry Mechanic, and AdAware. reboot whenever prompted. then right click My Computer, Properties, Advanced, Performance, Setting, Adjust for best performance. Then go to sysinternals.com and download pagedfrg.exe and set to autostart in 1 sec every boot. download/install Windows Defender, do full system scan (takes very long time) then do win update and pick up all available high priority updates. Be sure your Internet Explorer security settings are on Default or tighter. run defrag, reboot, run defrag again. The above steps will help performance noticeably, but wont make it the screamer it used to be (that will take a windows reinstall). be sure to follow above steps in order listed. if budget allows, buy some memory from crucial.com and max it out as much as it can take or budget allows.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Slow Compaq
  1. Doogler
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    521
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/485399

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice