Slow Computer

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Lyn Patterson

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 2, 2001
Messages
281
I am finding lately that when I have been working for more than a couple of hours the computer's responses slow right down until nothing will open. Usually I turn if off before it gets to that stage. When I come back to it later, everything is just fine. I am running Windows98, Intel Celeron Proc, 434mhz with 64mb RAM. Capacity 8gb of which 4gb is free. I use disk cleanup and defrag weekly. I was wondering if any particular sort of programme that I may have installed could create this sort of problem. Thanks.
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Hi Lyn,

Could be one program, or could be the combined efforts of a couple of programs.

Go to start/run, and type msconfig. Go to the startup tab, and tells us everything that you see checked there.

Especially if you don't go there very often, you could find a lot of unneccessary stuff that loads when Windows starts, thus eating up resources.

Cheers,
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2001
Messages
21
Your initial problem is the 64mb of RAM. When your computer boots up, you don't start with 64mb anyway. When you launch an application, that eats up more memory. When you execute commands, that eats up more memory. Running multiple applications at the same time eats up even more memory. When your RAM is consumed, your computer has to operate on virtual memory within the hard drive which is a lot slower than RAM. Bottom line is you need no less than 128mb or more of RAM by today's standards. Surfing on the internet is a massive memory cruncher also.
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2001
Messages
257
128 mb of ram is not a standard. Yes, most of us are using 256 or 512, but computers are still coming out with only 32mb. It is how you use your ram. If she has 20 programs that start when windows starts, that is going to be her problem, not having only 64mb of ram. Now if you need to run 20 programs at one time, then you will want more ram. If she is only using her computer for small applications and basic use, then she is fine with only 64mb.
 
Joined
Feb 13, 1999
Messages
8,974
I have to agree with kknla, 64MB is plenty of RAM for most people if you don't open a bunch of applications at once. Also adding a lot more with a Celeron Processor, which is not a power house, will not help a lot. I recommend you run SFC and ScanDisk, it will check for corrupted and bad files, and position files better. You may also may want to concern deleting the files in the Windows\Temporary Internet Files folder. As the Disk Clean-up utility does not dump them.
 
Joined
Apr 3, 2001
Messages
21
Actually, the "how you use your RAM" statement is more accurate than anything else. 64mb is consumed quickly in ANY scenario, especially jumping among applications and surfing. Unfortunately, when you shut down an app to move to the next, you don't get a full recovery.
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2001
Messages
257
If you are using 256mb of ram, it will also be consumed quickly, unless your running 2k or another operating system that can manage memory well. The only way to get around this is using a program to manage your memory better, because windows 98 will not.
 
Joined
Feb 13, 1999
Messages
8,974
Everyone is entitled to an opinion and you both have good points. Lets not scare the user away or confuse her. Thanks guys. :p
 

Lyn Patterson

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 2, 2001
Messages
281
Tony - thanks for advice. Here is the list of items :
System Tray
LoadPowerProfile
File Protector Checker
Norton CrashGuard Monitor
{F7D90BD2-14A9-11d3-AD9e-00AA0064EC94}
CriticalUpdate
RAM Idle
PCCIOMON.EXE (virus protector)
WebTrap.exe
Incredimail
LoadPowerProfile
SchedulingAgent
GoBack Polling Service
PCCIOMON.EXE
TrueVector
MiniLog
ZoneAlarm
Lotus SmartCentre
Lotus SmartSuite
Lotus QuickStart
Lotus Organizer EasyClip
Detector
Go Back Tray Icon
KeyText
Epson Status Monitor 3 Environment Check
NoteWhen

You will notice that there are two items listed twice ! It seems rather a long list. Thanks again.
Lyn
 

Lyn Patterson

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 2, 2001
Messages
281
DanO - thanks for reply - Windows\Temporary Internet Files contains a folder called "Content IE5" - which contains lots and lots of files - can I delete these safely?

Have run ScanDisk - no problems. also SFC - this contains 11 files of which the current one is older than the previous one. Should I restore the originals from the Windows disk? Have not done this before - do I run SFC and insert Windows disk and then click "restore" the relevant files?

Thanks.

Lyn
 

Lyn Patterson

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 2, 2001
Messages
281
kbcruzn AND kknla -

Thank you for your interesting comments. I use the computer 2-3 hours a day , sometimes more, mainly for desktop publishing - newsletters, brochures , greeting cards for a wildflower group of which I am secretary. Also for web site recently established. Have 600+ wildflower graphics stored. Also for email and general internet research.

Lyn
 
Joined
Feb 13, 1999
Messages
8,974
Yes, it's safe to delete the "Content IE5" folder. By deleting all files and folders in the Windows\Temporary Internet Files folder will free up a bunch of space and may make the overall run better. But it will also eliminate all your cookie files that sites used to trace your activies and your logon and passwords, so you will gave to re-entry them but you will gain some addional privacy.

Yes, I would restore the originals files using the Windows 98 CD, they are updated to correct problems and performance issues.

As for Startup tasks, you only need:

System Tray
LoadPowerProfile

The others are optional. I would uncheck all others as a test and see how the PC responds. Then add one back at a time and test to see if you can find the application causing the bottleneck, but leave unchecked the one you don't really need. For example, Norton CrashGuard Monitor is a great idea but generally causes more problems than it helps.
 

Lyn Patterson

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 2, 2001
Messages
281
Dan O - thanks for reply. Have deleted all temporary Internet Files. Ran msconfig and Startup and de-selected most of the programmes and clicked apply. However, after I had re-started Windows several of the programmes, notably the Lotus stuff and also Norton CrashGuard monitor had re-instated themselves ! I will try again to remove them . Thanks for advice.
Lyn
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Hi Lyn,

Go into the options of Crash Guard, and uncheck 'load at startup' there. Do the same with your Lotus stuff.
That's often more effective.

Cheers,
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top