1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Slow Connection

Discussion in 'Networking' started by nally25, Sep 30, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. nally25

    nally25 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Slow connection I have a super slow connection. It used to be fast but now is slow. I have vista, and roadrunner.
    Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet NIC
    Not sure if that helps or not.
     
  2. nally25

    nally25 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    do you think i could have some kind of malware or something like that
     
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Please supply the following info, exact make and models of the equipment please.

    Name of your ISP (Internet Service Provider).
    Make and exact model of the broadband modem.
    Make and exact model and hardware version of the router (if a separate unit).
    Model numbers can usually be obtained from the label on the device.
    Connection type, wired or wireless.
    If wireless, encryption used, (none, WEP, WPA, or WPA2)
    Version and patch level of Windows on all affected machines, i.e. XP (Home or Pro), SP1-SP2-SP3, Vista (Home, Business, Ultimate), etc.
    The Internet Browser in use, IE, Firefox, Opera, etc.




    Please give an exact description of your problem symptoms, including the exact text of any error messages.



    • If you're using a wireless connection, have you tried a direct connection with a cable to see if that changes the symptoms?
    • For wireless issues, have you disabled all encryption on the router to see if you can connect that way?
    • Have you connected directly to the broadband modem to see if this is a router or modem/ISP issue?
    • If there are other computers on the same network, are they experiencing the same issue, or do they function normally?




    Register at DSLReports and run their Line Quality Tests. It's best to run this test with a direct wired connection to eliminate any wireless issues from the results. It's useful many times to run this test several times, and we'd like to see each of the results. Post the results link from the top of the test display page for each test run here.

    The link to post is near the top of the page and looks like:

    If you wish to post this result to a forum, please copy/paste this URL
    http://www.dslreports.com/linequality/nil/2357195 <- sample only, yours will obviously be different!
    and your IP will be disguised.

    Copy/paste that link here.

    Note: You will have to enable PING (ICMP) request response either in your router (if you have one), or in your computer's firewall for direct modem connections. This is very important to get the most important part of the test to run.
     
  4. nally25

    nally25 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    I am not getting any error messages. But my connection is slow, and now I think that my whole computer has gotten slow. I actually just restored my computer to it's original settings yesterday. But it is still running slow..
    I have a compaq presario SR2163WM.
    Realtek RTL8139/810x Family Fast Ethernet NIC that is my connection. Roadrunner and I have Turbo but you would never know it.
    This is the message that I just got. sorry, 76.182.144.135 is not pingable from www.dslreports.com.
    It says test anyway with fewer results and I am going to do that but it said it could take 15-20 minutes
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You need to configure the router to respond to ICMP (PING) requests for the test to be the most useful.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/754690

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice