1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Slow DSL Speed Too!

Discussion in 'Networking' started by rlp864, Apr 17, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rlp864

    rlp864 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Dear Sir,
    I am having the same problem as the other guy. I have a DSL modem with router built in, from AT&T, and a wireless tower(USB device that acts like wifi) on another machine. The computer that has the hard wire to it from the modem/router is getting 6.1 mbps and the one with the tower is only getting 2.9 mbps. I changed them around to see if it was due to the tower not being hard wired. I have the same problem on this machine even when it is connected directly to the modem. The machine I am having a problem with is running windows xp pro sp2. I followed the directions you gave to the other guy and I am still getting a speed of only 2.9mbps. Here is the information that you asked for.
    This is the first time I have asked a question, so I hope that I am following the rules. Please let me know if you can help me. It has to be a setting within this computer that is limiting the speed. Thank you for your help.

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator.USR-3VQUN66ZRZ6>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : usr-3vqun66zrz6
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : gateway.2wire.net

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Linksys LNE100TX Fast Ethernet Adapt
    er(LNE100TX v4)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0C-41-24-60-BD

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : gateway.2wire.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Wireless USB Card #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-D0-41-A7-94-D2
    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.65
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, April 17, 2008 10:16:34 PM

    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, April 18, 2008 10:16:34 PM

    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator.USR-3VQUN66ZRZ6>
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Even though it appears you're having the same problem, please start a new thread when you have a new issue. It's very difficult to keep two problems straight and who's working on what in a single thread.

    I've created a new thread for your issue here.

    Note: You will need to post complete details of your configuration and your specific issue in this new thread for us to help you.

    Thanks for your cooperation.
     
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Do other computers on the same connection experience slow performance?

    Register at DSLReports and run their Line Quality Tests. It's useful many times to run this test several times, and we'd like to see each of the results. Post the results link from the top of the test display page for each test run here.

    The link to post is near the top of the page and looks like:

    If you wish to post this result to a forum, please copy/paste this URL
    http://www.dslreports.com/linequality/nil/2357195 <- sample only, yours will obviously be different!
    and your IP will be disguised.

    Copy/paste that link here.

    Note: You will have to enable PING (ICMP) request response either in your router (if you have one), or in your computer's firewall for direct modem connections. This is very important to get the most important part of the test to run.
     
  4. rlp864

    rlp864 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    I appreciate you helping me out. I tried to go to the site to run the report, but it is down at this time. I will try again later today, and post the information that you have requested. Again, thank you for your help.
     
  5. rlp864

    rlp864 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    I have tried to use the link to the site you asked me to run the line test on, but I keep getting this message.

    this page/function is temporarily unavailable.
    Fri Apr 18 00:35:36 EDT 2008 - Test offline until denial of service attack gets bord and goes away.

    Is there anything else I can try until the site is fixed? Thank you.
     
  6. neil21stirling

    neil21stirling

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    607
    speedtest.net also offer dsl speed tests
     
  7. rlp864

    rlp864 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    I went to the site that you provided and completed the test. Here is the link to the results. I hope this is how I was supposed to do this.

    <a href="http://www.speedtest.net"><img src="http://www.speedtest.net/result/260995943.png"></a>
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    The test I referred to is not a speed test, it's a line quality test. The speed test tells you very little.
     
  9. rlp864

    rlp864 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks for the information, I will keep trying the site to see if it comes up. You also asked if any other computers are slow. The answer is no. Just this one. I have the old windows 98 computer getting 6.1mbps, my laptop on wifi is getting 5.8mbps...but this one is getting just 2.7 mbps. I will post the results of the line test ASAP. Thank you.
     
  10. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    DSLReports was off-line yesterday having a DOS attack, they're back on-line today. However, the line quality test is still off-line.
     
  11. neil21stirling

    neil21stirling

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    607
    Sory dude, i should have read more carefully, i just skimmed through some of it and saw you were directing him to dslreports and the thread was about slow dsl.

    just assumed at the time it was a speed test you were asking for

    dsl line quality is still down im afraid, and i don't know of any alternatives to dslreports for this
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/704887

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice