1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved Slow Ethernet/Fast Wifi.

Discussion in 'Networking' started by mburns, Apr 24, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mburns

    mburns Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Messages:
    69
    I get great WiFi speeds.

    When I connect Ethernet directly Modem -> Desktop, I get the speeds I expect.

    When I connect Modem -> Router -> Desktop from any of the 4 ports on the Router, I get 1/4 speeds.

    I've had this router before and assumed the ports were bad so I bought another one thinking that the odds of that happening again were nil.

    But I'm having the same issues with the new Router.

    It's not 4 bad ports (and it probably wasn't the first time either.)

    It's not the Modem.

    It's not the cable.

    It's not the Ethernet port on the Desktop.

    So I'm stumped here and would appreciate any help you could offer.

    I'm running Windows 10 with latest updates.

    My Wireless Router is the TP-Link Archer C7 AC1750 Dual Band.

    My Ethernet port on the Desktop is Intel 82579 Gigabit Network Connection.

    My Modem is Arris SB6141 and is Gigabit Compatible.

    I simply ran quick setup and configured my 2.4 and 5.0 Wifi.

    I didn't mess with NAT or QOS.
     
  2. lochlomonder

    lochlomonder

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,472
    Have you plugged your machine directly into the modem with an Ethernet cable tested speeds from there? Have you contacted your ISP for them to do checks on their end?
     
  3. mburns

    mburns Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Messages:
    69
    First post says I did that.

    Nothing wrong with signal. But I should have added that I've done multiple speed tests and line quality tests on the first go around.
     
  4. plodr

    plodr

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    16,110
    First Name:
    Liz
  5. lochlomonder

    lochlomonder

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,472
    Whoops! You're right. That'll teach me for skimming. Have you checked to see if there are any firmware updates for the router?
     
  6. mburns

    mburns Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Messages:
    69
    Thanks for the reply, lochlomonder, it happens to the best of us.

    I'll check that first thing tomorrow.
     
  7. mburns

    mburns Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Messages:
    69
  8. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,875
    First Name:
    Rob
    You could just disable the extra Hardware NAT and revert back to the standard software NAT, that would not disable your internet and is usually the solution to most performance and stability issue on TP-Link routers.
     
  9. mburns

    mburns Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Messages:
    69
    I'll have to look for that particular setting. Not sure if I recall seeing such a setting in the admin page. I'll post after I give that a go. I'll update Firmware first, if need be.


    Thanks, Triple6!
     
  10. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,875
    First Name:
    Rob
    Definitely update the firmware first, in routers I always keep the firmware up to date as the fixes generally are pretty important. Then see if it works better, if it doesn't then turn off the Hardware NAT, it's definitely there.
     
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2017
    mburns likes this.
  11. mburns

    mburns Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Messages:
    69
    First of all, Firmware is already up to date.

    I'm now getting great speeds via Ethernet and all I did was reset the Router, and suddenly, problem is gone.

    I won't look a gift horse in the mouth but I'm all good here and the Hardware NAT is still enabled.

    I'll be a good boy and let be just like it is.

    I appreciate all the replies!

    Thanks for your time on this guys!

    Solved!
     
    lochlomonder likes this.
  12. mburns

    mburns Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2016
    Messages:
    69
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1188954

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice