1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Slow/glitchy network on Thinkpad?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Soundy, Jan 14, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Soundy

    Soundy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,838
    After working fine for months, the network on my ThinkPad R61i has become slow and intermittent. Often after a reboot, it will work fine... then after several hours it will get slower and slower to load pages, sometimes failing to load them entirely. Usually, after several minutes of inactivity, I can refresh a bunch of stalled pages and they'll all load fine, and it will work again okay for a few minutes, then slow down again. Often a reboot will clear it up, but not always.

    I use this almost exclusively on WiFi so I don't know if it will happen with a wired network connection. All the other wireless devices in the house work fine - my wife is using her VAIO laptop right beside me with no problems, so I don't think it's something environmental in this part of the house... plus, the problem occurs no matter where in the house I have my ThinkPad. It also happens in other locations (Starbucks, etc.) so that pretty much limits it to a problem with the laptop itself.

    Anyone have any insight, something I can check? There's lots of freespace on the %temp% drive, the drive is kept defragged (auto-defrag in Win7), pagefile is set to recommended size. I've run full diagnostics on the memory (MEMTEST) and the drive (WD DLG).
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    i would update the driver from the manufacturers web site

    http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/downloads/default.page?selector=expand

    also post an xirrus screen shot - lets see what type of signal the laptop is receiving -


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and install the program.
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    Direct link to the program is here http://info.xirrus.com/Wi-FiInspectorConfirmation.html

    {If the above link does not work heres another link http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html}

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You need will need to have NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.
    On windows 8 - (i do not have windows 8) but, it would appear that, When you first try to run, you may get a message that .net framework is needed, and included in that message is a link to download/install.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/cdn/pdf/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-inspectorguide-1-2-1-RevB-6.aspx

    post a screen shot of the program running.
    if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information.

    post which SSID name is yours, its located in the list, under network "Adapter Name" (1st column)

    To post a screen shot of the active window.
    1) hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    OR
    2) if you are using Vista/Windows 7 you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better. "A desirable signal level for a robust Wi-Fi connection will be green".
    note: the signal level is a negative number, so for example -88 is worst and -40 is better

    If you are using the Mac OS then use http://www.istumbler.net/

    if you want to optimise base station position and signal strength / dead spots use
    http://www.chimoosoft.com/products/apgrapher/ which has a graph function to monitor signal
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,957
    First Name:
    Terry
    Also, what firewall or security suite?

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista and 7 and 8.

    Start - All Programs - Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt. [For Windows 8: <Windows Logo> + x - Command Prompt(Admin)]

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  4. Soundy

    Soundy Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,838
    All drivers were downloaded from the Lenovo support site. Seems unlikely anyway, as it DID work fine until recently.

    Stock Win7 firewall and MSE running (MSE updated and scans come up clear). Resets applied, rebooting now.
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,957
    First Name:
    Terry
    If you haven't reinstalled the wireless driver since the problem began, please do so now in case the installed instance is corrupted.

    I have observed exactly three things (there are probably more--I just don't know them) that cause symptoms similar to yours ...

    a. incorrect or corrupted driver;

    b. corrupted (non-Microsoft) security application;

    c. slightly corrupted stack/WINSOCK.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1085108

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice