1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Slow high speed DSL

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by holymoly, Sep 30, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. holymoly

    holymoly Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    635
    I use Windows XP and am finding that with high speed DSL that webpages consistently may take up to 30 seconds to log in.

    I've tried the modem boosts and twiking software but little change. I regularly dump temp internet files and delete cookies,
    clear history, used spider, and adaware, spybot and have latest update from Norton anti-virus.

    Any other suggestions are welcome.

    Going slow and paying for it!
     
  2. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,187
    First Name:
    Derek
    go to http://www.tomcoyote.org/hjt/ , and download 'Hijack This!'.
    Unzip, doubleclick HijackThis.exe, and hit "Scan".

    When the scan is finished, the "Scan" button will change into a "Save Log" button.
    Press that, save the log somewhere, and please copy & paste its contents to the forum.

    It will possibly show issues deserving our attention, but most of what it lists will be harmless or

    even required, so do NOT fix anything yet.
    Someone here will be happy to help you analyze the results.
     
  3. BillC

    BillC

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    2,366
    Just for fun, check your speed at PC Pitstop's speed test. There is a chance the servers are slow, busy, etc. On the otherhand, as dvk01 is suggesting, you may have some unwanted pests on your machine.

    Another test here. I usually do a couple.
     
  4. holymoly

    holymoly Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    635
    Logfile of HijackThis v1.96.2
    Scan saved at 7:39:08 PM, on 9/30/2003
    Platform: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe
    C:\Program Files\NavNT\vptray.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\ctfmon.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\ANTI-V~1\AVG6\avgserv.exe
    C:\Program Files\NavNT\defwatch.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\VS7Debug\mdm.exe
    C:\Program Files\NavNT\rtvscan.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\MsPMSPSv.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\MsgSys.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\wuauclt.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\WINZIP\winzip32.exe
    C:\Documents and Settings\Frank Rabzel\Local Settings\Temp\HijackThis.exe

    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 6.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {724d43a9-0d85-11d4-9908-00400523e39a} - C:\Program Files\Siber Systems\AI RoboForm\RoboForm.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: &RoboForm - {724d43a0-0d85-11d4-9908-00400523e39a} - C:\Program Files\Siber Systems\AI RoboForm\RoboForm.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\msdxm.ocx
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [vptray] C:\Program Files\NavNT\vptray.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ctfmon.exe] C:\WINDOWS\System32\ctfmon.exe
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Customize Menu &4 - file://C:\Program Files\Siber Systems\AI RoboForm\RoboFormComCustomizeIEMenu.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\Office10\EXCEL.EXE/3000
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Fill Forms &] - file://C:\Program Files\Siber Systems\AI RoboForm\RoboFormComFillForms.html
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Save Forms &[ - file://C:\Program Files\Siber Systems\AI RoboForm\RoboFormComSavePass.html
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Fill Forms (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Fill Forms &] (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Save (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Save Forms &[ (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: RoboForm (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: RF Toolbar &2 (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Messenger (HKLM)
    O16 - DPF: {11260943-421B-11D0-8EAC-0000C07D88CF} (iPIX ActiveX Control) - http://www.ipix.com/download/ipixx.cab
    O16 - DPF: {166B1BCA-3F9C-11CF-8075-444553540000} (Shockwave ActiveX Control) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/director/sw.cab
    O16 - DPF: {1E2941E3-8E63-11D4-9D5A-00902742D6E0} (iNotes Class) - http://atlclmail02.prgx.com/iNotes.cab
    O16 - DPF: {2253F320-AB68-4A07-917D-4F12D8884A06} (ChainCast VMR Client Proxy) - http://64.124.45.181/downloads/ccpm_0237.cab
    O16 - DPF: {2BC66F54-93A8-11D3-BEB6-00105AA9B6AE} (Symantec AntiVirus scanner) - http://security.symantec.com/SSC/SharedContent/vc/bin/AvSniff.cab
    O16 - DPF: {3E68E405-C6DE-49FF-83AE-41EE9F4C36CE} (Office Update Installation Engine) - http://office.microsoft.com/officeupdate/content/opuc.cab
    O16 - DPF: {41F17733-B041-4099-A042-B518BB6A408C} - http://a1540.g.akamai.net/7/1540/52...pple.com/borris/us/win/QuickTimeInstaller.exe
    O16 - DPF: {56336BCB-3D8A-11D6-A00B-0050DA18DE71} (RdxIE Class) - http://207.188.7.150/24842da50619d8038923/netzip/RdxIE601.cab
    O16 - DPF: {597C45C2-2D39-11D5-8D53-0050048383FE} (OPUCatalog Class) - http://office.microsoft.com/productupdates/content/opuc.cab
    O16 - DPF: {74D05D43-3236-11D4-BDCD-00C04F9A3B61} (HouseCall Control) - http://a840.g.akamai.net/7/840/537/930260cd062fd5/housecall.antivirus.com/housecall/xscan53.cab
    O16 - DPF: {9F1C11AA-197B-4942-BA54-47A8489BB47F} (Update Class) - http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/CAB/x86/unicode/iuctl.CAB?37869.4602430556
    O16 - DPF: {C2FCEF52-ACE9-11D3-BEBD-00105AA9B6AE} (Symantec RuFSI Registry Information Class) - http://security.symantec.com/SSC/SharedContent/common/bin/cabsa.cab
    O16 - DPF: {CC05BC12-2AA2-4AC7-AC81-0E40F83B1ADF} (Live365Player Class) - http://www.live365.com/players/play365.cab
    O16 - DPF: {CD17FAAA-17B4-4736-AAEF-436EDC304C8C} (ContentAuditX Control) - http://www.contentwatch.com/audit/includes/ContentAuditControl.cab
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
    O16 - DPF: {DE22A7AB-A739-4C58-AD52-21F9CD6306B7} (CTAdjust Class) - http://www.microsoft.com/typography/clearadj.cab
    O16 - DPF: {DF6A0F17-0B1E-11D4-829D-00C04F6843FE} (Microsoft Office Tools on the Web Control) - http://officeupdate.microsoft.com/TemplateGallery/downloads/outc.cab
    O16 - DPF: {E7D2588A-7FB5-47DC-8830-832605661009} (Live Collaboration) - http://liveca05.rightnowtech.com/uo/eatech/rnt/rnl/java/RntX.cab
    O16 - DPF: {E7DBFB6C-113A-47CF-B278-F5C6AF4DE1BD} - http://download.abacast.com/download/files/abasetup.cab
    O16 - DPF: {F58E1CEF-A068-4C15-BA5E-587CAF3EE8C6} (MSN Chat Control 4.5) - http://fdl.msn.com/public/chat/msnchat45.cab
    O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\Tcpip\..\{0D4BB4BE-4F9C-4468-BADD-2A86261D7E88}: NameServer = 207.136.100.40 209.148.64.40
     
  5. holymoly

    holymoly Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    635
    To Bill C:

    I do those tests and it regularly shows appropriate speeds.
    Just now your two tests yielded me : 1200 and 822 downloading speeds. But when I had cable modem about year ago it always seemed faster.
     
  6. holymoly

    holymoly Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    635
    Further, these tests doindicate high speed but then why do regularly encounter 30sec to one inute to load webpage?
    Other people have also noticed this on my computer.

    Please let me know results of hijack scan, when you have a chance.

    Thanks
     
  7. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,187
    First Name:
    Derek
    Nothing obvious in the HJT log

    the only reason I can think of is a full temporary internet files folder, try emptying it and all cookies /history etc. from tools/options/general/deletecookies & delete files
    then press settings and see how much space you have allocated.

    when IE finds the allocated file space is full it overwrites the earlier files but can be extremely slow at doing this.

    have you tried a different browser such as opera, that would confirm whether it's IE or your ISP at fault
     
  8. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,187
    First Name:
    Derek
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/168599

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice