1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Slow Internet on laptop despite new wifi card

Discussion in 'Networking' started by mtompkins123, Aug 16, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mtompkins123

    mtompkins123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Hello,
    I have a 2011 Asus k53sv laptop with an i7 processor and 8 gigs of ram. I recently upgraded my wifi card because I had an old centrino 100-n card. I upgraded to an intel 7260ac in order to get better speeds in general. Currently my ISP is giving me 100mgbs download and 20 mgb upload. On my girlfriends newer laptop she is getting around 75 mgb download on speedtest.net, however, when I try speedtest on the same network using my laptop, I max out at 20 mgbs. These tests are done one right after another so bandwidth issues aren't the problem. I have all of the correct drivers for this card installed so I don't think that is the issue either. Any ideas on how to fix this on my laptop?
    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. texasbullet

    texasbullet

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2014
    Messages:
    2,222
    First Name:
    Ramon
    Sometimes the internet like MSN, Yahoo, Google, etc sometimes they are having technical problems but won't let us know about this problems. The only thing is for us to just keep on trying. (my opinion).
     
  3. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,691
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can you connect to the router with a cable and re-try the speedtest.net to see if the laptop does get that speed on cable ?
     
  4. mtompkins123

    mtompkins123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    texasbullet: I tested my computer and my girlfriends computer right after one another on the same network and she was getting 75 mgbs and i was getting 20mgbs. It makes no sense.
    ETAF: When I connect my computer via ethernet I get 85 mgbs. So I'm thinking there is a setting that is not allowing me to get fast speeds via wifi. Any thoughts?
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,691
    First Name:
    Wayne
    yep
    lets try a few things
    start with
    lets see an xirrus screen shot - and see the type of signal strength you are getting - also check your girlfriends next to your pc - see below
    then - try letting windows re-install the adapter - see below
    then a tcp/ip reset - see below

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Uninstall and allow windows to re-install the adapter and Driver
    goto the device manager > Network Adapters > click on the [+] to show all the adapters

    right click on the adapter and from the menu

    remove/uninstall the adapter

    Now restart the pc and allow windows to detect new hardware and re install the adapter and the driver
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file to the faulty PC and install the program.
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply

    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx
    Download this file "DOWNLOAD WI-FI INSPECTOR Vx.xx "
    ( the site now appears to allow webbased emails like gmail, hotmail, outlook and yahoo now )

    There is also a xirrus gadget, But that does not have all the fuctionality "DOWNLOAD GADGET Vx.xx

    Alternative links - Use the links below


    http://www.softpedia.com/progDownload/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-Monitor-Download-99109.html

    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You will need to have NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.
    On windows 8 - (i do not have windows 8) but, it would appear that, When you first try to run, you may get a message that .net framework is needed, and included in that message is a link to download/install.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here
    http://www.xirrus.com/cdn/pdf/xirruswifiinspectorguide1-2-0

    post a screen shot of the program running.
    if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information.

    post which SSID name is yours, its located in the list, under network "Adapter Name" (1st column)


    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better. "A desirable signal level for a robust Wi-Fi connection will be green".
    note: the signal level is a negative number, so for example -88 is worst and -40 is better

    To post a screen shot of the active window.

    Windows XP
    Hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.

    Vista or Windows 7
    you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/how-to-use-the-windows-snipping-tool/

    Windows 8
    you can use the snipping tool > Open Snipping Tool (From the Windows 8 Start Screen, type "snip" and press enter.
    >Press the Esc. key.
    >go back to your Windows 8 start screen - Swipe from left or press Window Button
    >Press Ctrl+PrntScr button to use Snipping Tool
    see here
    http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/opinion/windows/3415854/how-take-screenshot-in-windows-8/
    http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/how-to/windows/3405830/how-take-screenshot-in-windows-8/


    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8

    For Windows Vista/Windows 7/8
    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on the screen ):​

    For Windows 8
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold and red for the following commands.

    • Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog and press enter
    • Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log and press enter
    • Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log and press enter
    ReStart (reboot) the machine.

    If you receive the message
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Then please open the command prompt as administrator - as requested above
    Start> Programs> Accessories> and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):
    Please note and post back - if you receive the following message :-
    Access is Denied
    This often occurs with windows 8

    please post back the results in a reply here - its important we know that these commands have worked correctly and not produced any errors
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Details also here
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357
    also the link has a Microsoft Fix it , which will do the above for you

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. mtompkins123

    mtompkins123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    I have attached the results from the program and the command prompt reset. I speedtested the wifi again and it gave me the same speed (20mgbs). I just don't understand why my laptop maxes out at 20 mgbs when hers is above 70. The file named "jessie" is my girlfriends computers test.
    Thanks,
    Mike
     

    Attached Files:

  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,691
    First Name:
    Wayne
    notice the graph difference

    i think the quality of the signal being received is seeing an issue - not sure if a channel change on the router would help you wireless - as theres a no-broadcast on the same channel - BUT I think that maybe the same router broadcasting

    try changing to channel 1 on the router

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Try reseating the wireless adapter

    If the adapter is easily accessible, usually through a cover on the bottom of the laptop.
    Remove the power adapter and also the Battery before doing the following
    Remove and reinsert carefully and firmly several times to cure any possible looseness or corrosion.
    At the same time check to make sure the antenna leads are securely attached.
    Note: This is not taking the machine apart. We do not recommend removing the keyboard when that is necessary to find the wireless.

    There are often some good examples of how to disassemble laptops on "youtube" and you should see if the wireless card is on the bottom of the laptop

    Heres an example (they do vary) of a wireless card - with the clips where the aerial leads usually clip
    http://www.aliexpress.com/item/For-...Bluetooth-4-0-Mini-PCI-E-Card/1881271730.html

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  8. mtompkins123

    mtompkins123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Is the quality of the signal something I can change on my computer? Some specific settings? The no-broadcast signal is the router itself. I have changed to channel to a variety of numbers and used my wifi analyzer to see which one is the best and they all give the same result. Did I get a bad wifi card? or should I return it and get a better one that you can recommend?
     

    Attached Files:

  9. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,691
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you may have a faulty wireless card or the aerial leads maybe not connected fully
    the old wireless card - whats thats card performance ?
     
  10. mtompkins123

    mtompkins123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    my old intel centrino n-100 card was also maxing out at 20 mgbs. That was the reason for switching. I thought I would get a better and faster connection. But I feel it has to be a setting on my laptop because of my gf's computer and my phone all get in the 60 and 70s (mgbs) speeds.
     
  11. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,691
    First Name:
    Wayne
    dont know of a setting to try
    but - how about safemode
    - try safemode with networking (sometimes wireless does not work with safemode )

    For Windows 8 - see below

    For other windows version, XP,Vista, W7 as the PC starts keep tapping F8 - a menu appears - choose
    safemode with networking - see if that works

    For windows 8

    http://www.7tutorials.com/5-ways-boot-safe-mode-windows-8-windows-81
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-gb/windows-8/windows-startup-settings-including-safe-mode
    http://pcsupport.about.com/od/windows-8/ss/windows-8-safe-mode.htm

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  12. mtompkins123

    mtompkins123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Nope. No luck. Safe mode produces the same results.
     
  13. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,691
    First Name:
    Wayne
    if you move to within 4-6ft of the router what happens
     
  14. mtompkins123

    mtompkins123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    All of the tests that I have taken with speedtest are within 4 to 6 feet of my router.
     
  15. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,691
    First Name:
    Wayne
    :) , i dont have any more ideas
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1131713

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice