1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

slow network?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by David McKeal, Oct 9, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. David McKeal

David McKeal Thread Starter

I'm new to Networking. I have a Windows XP Pro and a Windows XP Home system "workgroup" networked and everything works...but very slowly. For instance, if I access the My Documents folder located on the primary system (XP Pro) with the secondary system (XP home), it may take upwards of 10 seconds to open the folder. The folder contains about a dozen sub folders, 800 Mbs of data and maybe 3500 files. How long should it take to access the folder? Some of my less populated folders also seem slow. What should I expect as far as the amount of time required to access large or small folders? Thanks.

2. JohnWill

JohnWill Retired Moderator

Delete the following key from the Registry (after saving)

HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\RemoteComputer\NameS
    pace\{D6277990-4C6A-11CF-8D87-00AA0060F5BF}

The default is for computers to search scheduled tasks on the remote computers, and this seems to take forever with 2K and XP. There is no reason to search the scheduled tasks, deleting this key kills the search. If you save the key first, and you don't like the result, you can add it back into the registry, good as new. :)

3. David McKeal

I deleted the key as you suggested but there was no obvious difference in the access time. I counted it off...20 seconds for my Word Docs folder. Other less populated folders don't seem to take so long.