1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Slow PC - HiJackThis log posted

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Trembor, Jan 17, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Trembor

    Trembor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    113
    My friend has an older pc (p2) and it seems to be prettty SLLLOOOWWWW.

    I told him I'd try to help him out, so far I've run adaware and Norton. STILL seems slow (but it could be that Im used to p4's....*shrug*)

    Here's the LOG! THANKS FOR ANY HELP

    Platform: Windows 2000 SP3 (WinNT 5.00.2195)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINNT\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\WINNT\System32\ZoneLabs\isafe.exe
    C:\Program Files\Symantec_Client_Security\Symantec AntiVirus\DefWatch.exe
    C:\WINNT\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\Program Files\Symantec_Client_Security\Symantec AntiVirus\Rtvscan.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\regsvc.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\MSTask.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\stisvc.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\ZoneLabs\vsmon.exe
    C:\WINNT\System32\WBEM\WinMgmt.exe
    C:\WINNT\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINNT\Explorer.EXE
    C:\PROGRA~1\SYMANT~1\SYMANT~1\vptray.exe
    C:\Program Files\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\zlclient.exe
    C:\Program Files\HP\HP Software Update\HPWuSchd2.exe
    C:\Program Files\eBay\eBay Toolbar2\eBayTBDaemon.exe
    C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
    C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
    C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Desktop\HijackThis.exe

    O2 - BHO: eBay Toolbar Helper - {22D8E815-4A5E-4DFB-845E-AAB64207F5BD} - C:\Program Files\eBay\eBay Toolbar2\eBayTB.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINNT\System32\msdxm.ocx
    O3 - Toolbar: eBay Toolbar - {92085AD4-F48A-450D-BD93-B28CC7DF67CE} - C:\Program Files\eBay\eBay Toolbar2\eBayTB.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Synchronization Manager] mobsync.exe /logon
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [vptray] C:\PROGRA~1\SYMANT~1\SYMANT~1\vptray.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Zone Labs Client] "C:\Program Files\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\zlclient.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HP Software Update] "C:\Program Files\HP\HP Software Update\HPWuSchd2.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [eBayToolbar] C:\Program Files\eBay\eBay Toolbar2\eBayTBDaemon.exe
    O4 - Global Startup: HP Digital Imaging Monitor.lnk = C:\Program Files\HP\Digital Imaging\bin\hpqtra08.exe
    O4 - Global Startup: HP Image Zone Fast Start.lnk = C:\Program Files\HP\Digital Imaging\bin\hpqthb08.exe
    O8 - Extra context menu item: &eBay Search - res://C:\Program Files\eBay\eBay Toolbar2\eBayTb.dll/RCSearch.html
    O16 - DPF: {26CBF141-7D0F-46E1-AA06-718958B6E4D2} - http://download.ebay.com/turbo_lister/US/install.cab
    O16 - DPF: {4F1E5B1A-2A80-42CA-8532-2D05CB959537} (MSN Photo Upload Tool) - http://by102fd.bay102.hotmail.msn.com/resources/MsnPUpld.cab
    O16 - DPF: {6414512B-B978-451D-A0D8-FCFDF33E833C} (WUWebControl Class) - http://update.microsoft.com/microsoftupdate/v6/V5Controls/en/x86/client/wuweb_site.cab?1137056311752
    O16 - DPF: {6E32070A-766D-4EE6-879C-DC1FA91D2FC3} (MUWebControl Class) - http://update.microsoft.com/microsoftupdate/v6/V5Controls/en/x86/client/muweb_site.cab?1137051610023
    O20 - Winlogon Notify: NavLogon - C:\WINNT\System32\NavLogon.dll
    O23 - Service: CA ISafe (CAISafe) - Computer Associates International, Inc. - C:\WINNT\System32\ZoneLabs\isafe.exe
    O23 - Service: DefWatch - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Symantec_Client_Security\Symantec AntiVirus\DefWatch.exe
    O23 - Service: Logical Disk Manager Administrative Service (dmadmin) - VERITAS Software Corp. - C:\WINNT\System32\dmadmin.exe
    O23 - Service: Symantec AntiVirus Client (Norton AntiVirus Server) - Symantec Corporation - C:\Program Files\Symantec_Client_Security\Symantec AntiVirus\Rtvscan.exe
    O23 - Service: TrueVector Internet Monitor (vsmon) - Zone Labs Inc. - C:\WINNT\system32\ZoneLabs\vsmon.exe
     
  2. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    How much RAM does the system have?
     
  3. Trembor

    Trembor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    113
    hmmm his "system prop." menu reads that he has 130,608kb's of RAM
     
  4. Trembor

    Trembor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    113
    I just thought about what I typed, damn that looks REALLY LOW!

    I opened up the case and see 2 unlabeled stick's in his MB
     
  5. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,771
    First Name:
    Frank
    It apparently has 128 MB of RAM, which is not enough.

    What speed is the Pentium II processor?

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. Trembor

    Trembor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    113
  7. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,771
    First Name:
    Frank
    It's probably a Pentium II 450 MHz processor.

    With that processor speed and having only 128 MB of RAM, that computer is going to run slow.

    It can definitely benefit from having another 128 - 256 MB of RAM installed and also having some performance-enhancing tweaks done to it.

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  8. Trembor

    Trembor Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    113
    not very knoweldgeable about Perf. Enhanc. Tweeks.

    know any links where they can walk-thru it for me...dont wanna screw this dude's cp up =)
     
  9. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,771
    First Name:
    Frank
    I've never worked on a Windows 2000 computer, and it doesn't have the msconfig.exe utility like Windows 98, ME, and XP does, or else I'd show you how to trim it down of unnecessary running programs, for starters.

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  10. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    128mb :eek: :p

    It's all yours flav ;)
     
  11. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,771
    First Name:
    Frank
    Since Windows 2000 doesn't have a msconfig.exe utility, let's trim down the startup list another way. Run another scan with HijackThis, then place a checkmark in and fix the following:

    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime

    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [HP Software Update] "C:\Program Files\HP\HP Software Update\HPWuSchd2.exe"


    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Go into the display properties settings and see what the color palette is set to. If it's set to 32-bit true color, change it to 16-bit high color.

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  12. MFDnNC

    MFDnNC

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    49,014
  13. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,771
    First Name:
    Frank
    MFDnSC:

    Thanks for posting that link. I knew the XP version of msconfig.exe works with 2000, but I didn't know where to find it.

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  14. MFDnNC

    MFDnNC

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    49,014
    No Prob(y) - BTW This is post 20K for me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  15. cadlewv

    cadlewv

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Um, how about uninstalling any programs that aren't really needed? I.E. is the eBay toolbar really necessary? Is it worth your computer running a little slower? Look at what's installed that doesn't need to be as well.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/434920

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice