1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

slow PC

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Ken_RM, Dec 11, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Ken_RM

    Ken_RM Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Messages:
    187
    Hi
    I had what appeared to be a Malware problem. Worked with iMac3g and he now he declares it to be clear of any Malware, However, thePC still appears a little slow.
    It now takes about 20 seconds to start Windows, 25 seconds to get to logon and then 100 seconds to complete logon. After that the Disk remains rather busy for a further 12o seconds before Disk activity drops to an intermittant usage. Does this sound normal or am I just being a little impatient?
    Please advise
    Cheers
    Ken
     
  2. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    34,980
    First Name:
    James
    Does it happen all the time? It may have been an update finishing up, or a virus scan, which are the 2 common things that I see. How old is the machine?
     
  3. Ken_RM

    Ken_RM Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Messages:
    187
    Notebook is now about 6 years old. Happens as regular as clockwork.
    Cheers
    Ken
     
  4. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    34,980
    First Name:
    James
    Because of the age, and most likely hasn't been wiped since purchased, I would suspect that maybe a wipe would help to clear any obsolete entries within the system / fragmentation / etc.

    Maybe create a new profile and see if it happens on that too?

    Also, an hard drive as old as that may be starting to slow down too.
     
  5. snuffleufflegus

    snuffleufflegus

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    Messages:
    466
    First Name:
    Damienne
    How does it run once everything is loaded?
    Is it just a slow boot,or is the computer still slow even after everything is loaded?
    How many unnecessary startup programs do you have running when booting?
    Go to start/run/type "msconfig" (without the quotes).
    A box will appear.Click the "startup" tab.
    Please post the startup items here.
    Once the computer has booted,right click your taskbar,click task manager.
    At the bottom you will see "Processess" and "Cpu Usage".
    Please post how many processess and how high your cpu usage is here.
     
  6. Ken_RM

    Ken_RM Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Messages:
    187
    Hi
    Not that with it, I'm afraid. Where/How do I go to "start/run/msconfig"
    Cheers,
    Ken
     
  7. Ken_RM

    Ken_RM Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Messages:
    187
    upload_2019-12-13_8-14-58.png

    upload_2019-12-13_8-18-47.png

    PC operating fine once all has started up. DO I have to delete some of the 103 processes? Which ones? and where to delete?
    Cheers,
    Ken
     
  8. snuffleufflegus

    snuffleufflegus

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    Messages:
    466
    First Name:
    Damienne
    You will need to post everything that is starting up in your msconfig as i can not see the whole list.Im not sure how you can do post that here unless you type it all up and post it.Im sure someone else here may be have an easier way of doing that.
    I have to leave for work.will not be able to get back to help you till 3 pm eastern american time.
    however,i can tell just from what i see that you need to disable alot of programs at startup as im sure that's more then half of your problem.
    103 processes? Thats crazy!
    Your physical memory usage is extremely high also.
    Hopefully another tech can help you while im gone to get things sorted out.
    will be back later.
     
  9. Ken_RM

    Ken_RM Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Messages:
    187
    Hi Snuffleufflegus
    Attached are screen copies (3 pages in total). Not sure why there are only 34 items. Do some start more than one process ?
    Cheers
    Ken
     

    Attached Files:

  10. snuffleufflegus

    snuffleufflegus

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    Messages:
    466
    First Name:
    Damienne
    ok..you will have to unfortunately upload the images again,only this time click on the lines between "startup item" and "manufacturer" and drag them to the right so that i can see the complete program and destination.sorry about that.should have mentioned that before.
    see image below.

    Untitledb.png
     
    plodr likes this.
  11. Ken_RM

    Ken_RM Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Messages:
    187
    Hi Again
    Hope this meets the requirement
    Cheers
    Ken_RM
     

    Attached Files:

  12. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,387
    First Name:
    David
    I see that you have AVG and Norton Ghost running.
    I would uninstall both of them and then get Windows "Defender" running.
     
  13. Ken_RM

    Ken_RM Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Messages:
    187
    Hi
    Why would I delete AVG? Is Defender better? Why delete Norton Ghost? Will it be replaced by Defender? How will I make images of my system for security?
    Please help with your thoughts.
    Ken_RM
     
  14. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    11,879
    There is a free disk imaging program called Macrium Reflect Free, a lot of us use that to make drive images.

    AVG is a 3rd party antivirus, and we have seen many people on the forum having these things cause compatibility problems of various sorts. The first thing we tell people to try is to uninstall 3rd party AV. and that solves their problem quickly.

    Several organizations tests antivirus programs, like AV Test and, av comparatives. And in those tests, Windows 10 Defender ranks among the top. Go check them out. So having a 3rd party AV just for detecting malware is really not that useful and a waste of money. There are other anti-malware programs that do more than just pick up malware, like Hit Man Pro Alert; it is mainly an anti-exploit program and also has browser protection. But it also does malware detection, but that is not it's main strength. The key to good security is to have layers of overlapping security; if one layer fails to recognize and neutralize a threat, there is yet another layer, and then another.
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2019
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1237006

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice