1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Slow Q6600

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by bobush, Jul 18, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bobush

bobush It's My Birthday! Thread Starter

Bought a q6600 pc a couple of weeks ago to replace my Dell D820. Its slow compared to the dell at most things. I'm a photographer so use lots of image files. Windows Explorer in Vista is lethargic compared to my old dell on XP. I also get lots of " not Responding" .
    I can find a folder on my hard drive and it will take about a minute to open the images up. They are not huge files about 5 meg each. The Dell in comparison takes 5 seconds for the same files. Both have 4 gig ram. The q6600 processor just sits at 1-2% while asking it to do most things. If I use it to render Video it works at about 70 % and it's about 3 times faster than the Dell. Prior to buying I went on a couple of sites that compared processors and the Q6600 should be 6 times faster at rendering. In normal use such its noticibly slow than the Dell but should be very fast. It has the latest bios and is set up to go faster under load in bios.

Any ideas??
    bobush

2. zyper95

zyper95

What type of processor thus your pc have? Some processor such as dual core has the ability to do multi-taking which it means that even how many programs you open the processor can still handle it and does not show slow down. Also, having a large hard drive can cause slow down specially if you have to many programs running in the background upon start up.

3. bobush

its a q6600 quad core. I dont have lots of programs running. It jsut sits at 1-2% when I ask it to do anything. I could grow a beard faster!!

4. Warlord Jimmy

Warlord Jimmy

With those specs i see no reason why it should be slower...