1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Slow running wordpress website

Discussion in 'Web Design & Development' started by DanL101, Feb 19, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. DanL101

    DanL101 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Hello I have a business website that uses wordpress (theme Avenue) & I'm having problems with the load speed. It won't load image sliders very quickly & editing is really difficult as it takes ages for changes to appear & update. What could be the reasons for this? Many thanks in advance!
     
  2. colinsp

    colinsp

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,201
    First Name:
    Colin
    Large images, poor specification server, problem with your internet connection, bug / badly written plugin or theme particularly if updated just before the speed problem started. These are the first things that spring to mind. More detail including the url may help.
     
  3. DanL101

    DanL101 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Hey Colin thanks so much for your reply, the website is www.replayacousticduo.co.uk, could I just ask what a poor specification server means? I find that the site is slow to load when i'm loading & editing it, other websites aren't slow to load when im looking at those, thanks again!
     
  4. colinsp

    colinsp

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,201
    First Name:
    Colin
    See this report on your site. It is not too bad but your biggest issue is the size of cropped-live.png it is 6.3meg in size, ideally you want to get this down to 200k or even less, it is way too big. I suspect that you may well have other images on your site that are too big too.
     
  5. 737Simpilot

    737Simpilot Temporarily Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2017
    Messages:
    317
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2018
  6. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    55,763
    First Name:
    Derek
    There are several things wrong with the site
    1. large images that need reducing in size
    2. no https
    3. the way the server is set up, it is redirecting several times so that is really slowing things down
    see https://check-host.net/check-report/66d8e45kc0d when you use http://www.replayacousticduo.co.uk/
    now compare that to www.replayacousticduo.co.uk/ https://check-host.net/check-report/66db8a6kf82 where you see a 301 redirect
    now compare to base url replayacousticduo.co.uk/ which still has a301 redirect https://check-host.net/check-report/66dac61k30c
     
  7. DanL101

    DanL101 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks all for you replies! Very good of you all, is it just a case of using images as jpeg to reduce the size? also if I could just ask what https is? I'm very much a novice!
     
  8. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    55,763
    First Name:
    Derek
  9. DanL101

    DanL101 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Ah wow thank you dvk01! sorry if this is a stupid question but is it easy to switch to https? massive thanks!
     
  10. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    55,763
    First Name:
    Derek
    It is quite easy in Wordpress but you need to be able to install a SSL certificate on the server

    Some Cpanel servers & hosting companies allow you to install the free Cpanel supplied ssl certificate via your Cpanel control panel. Others still make you buy one via the hosting company control panel

    Once you have installed a ssl certificate then the easiest way is to use this Wp plugin https://wordpress.org/plugins/really-simple-ssl/ ( note there are other SSL plugins also available )
     
  11. DanL101

    DanL101 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    that's great thank you for your help really appreciate it! I'm finding website maintenance tricky so its great to have some advice, thanks again!
     
  12. 737Simpilot

    737Simpilot Temporarily Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2017
    Messages:
    317
    In my Cpanel you have the option of a LetsEncrypt certificate. And so I can imagine other hosting companies having the same feature. LetsEncrypt is free. The only issue is that it updates every three months. Not too bad I guess. Still free. You'll get an E-mail stating it renewed. The other issue is that if you block head requests in the htaccess file like I do (It's a security thing) then the issuing of the LetsEncrypt certificate will fail. You have to temporally // out the head request block in the htaccess file to issue the Cert. Once that is done you can continue to block head requests as usual without issue.

    I put this out there for people who may have this issue and don't know what the issue is.

    Please look at some security plugins. Wordpress is a really big sought after website platform for hackers. Look into the CIDRAM plugin. I use it, albeit not the Wordpress version. I know the author of this plugin. If you want, check out this website and ask questions in the CIDRAM subforum. You will find me, the author and others who know a thing or two about website security. http://zb-block.net/zbf/

    You might even want to install the free Ninjafirewall plug in. That right there will help greatly. And never use a theme that you don't get from Wordpress. But even some plugins can't be trusted. Even at the Wordpress site. I had this captcha plug in that ended up serving ADs on my site. Once this was found out Wordpress pulled their BS plugin.

    Oh! In you Cpanel, make sure mod_security is on. Your hoster should give y0u this option. If not, ask them if it's installed. If not, run away from that host! You want mod_security.

    To prevent getting hacked is to know how they hack.
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2018
  13. savvtcinsif

    savvtcinsif

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    If you have problem for loading speed when you edit from your computer , Then I think it is your network speed,. did you check test speed?
     
  14. 737Simpilot

    737Simpilot Temporarily Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2017
    Messages:
    317

    NO, this is not the issue.
     
  15. oitconz

    oitconz

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Messages:
    33
    Paint.Net ( https://www.getpaint.net/download.html#download ) is a free application - like MSPaint on steroids. load your image into that then hit Ctrl-R ( resize) and resize the image to how big you want it. Yes JPEG will generally be smaller than PNG but if you need transparency in your image then you will need to use PNG.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1205277

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice