1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Slow, slower, slowest

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Nighthamar, Oct 1, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Nighthamar

    Nighthamar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Hi all,

    I have a problem with my Dell Latitude D800 laptop. I reformatted the HDD yesterday, and re-installed Windows XP. Now the responce time is even worse than before I did the HDD wipe. I have AVG, Ad-aware and Zonealarm installed on this machine.

    Windows XP Prof version 2002 SP3
    Intel Pentium M 1600 MHz, but running at 221MHz
    1.0 gig of ram

    Any help would be appreciated.

     
  2. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,248
    right click your desktop > properties > screen saver > power > see what your laptop settings are; if it's anything other than 'always on', switch it to that, and then check your processor speed again.

    thanks

    v
     
  3. Nighthamar

    Nighthamar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks for the reply V,

    I completely forgot about that... :eek:

    Just switched it and still the same. Would it be wise to get a Speed up program for it???:confused:
     
  4. Nighthamar

    Nighthamar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    I have tried to change it in the BIOS, but cannot get access to it.

    I have checked, and the only passaord that I put on it is the Admin.. But I cannot change the speed in teh BIOS...:mad:
     
  5. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,248
    what is it set at in the bios? Generally bios won't mess with that.
     
  6. Nighthamar

    Nighthamar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    It is set at 600MHz, for the current settings...

    Sorry bout the time between posts, I had a Doctors appt to go to...
     
  7. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,248
    it's set at 600 in the bios? Odd. And it's bios protected? Where'd you get this pc?
     
  8. Nighthamar

    Nighthamar Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Wel, it is not a PC, it is a laptop.

    I bought it from a friend of mine. He needed the cash, and I needed a laptop... :)

    And yes, it is password proctected in BIOS set at 600 MHz...
     
  9. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,248
    in that case, you are going to have to contact your friend and get the password for the bios.....unfortunately, we cannot assist in bypassing any passwords of any sort, bios or not.
     
  10. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Valis is correct. Contact your friend. Closing thread.
     
  11. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,248
    thanks, candy....:)
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/755200

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice