Slow, slower, slowest

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Nighthamar

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 30, 2008
Messages
8
Hi all,

I have a problem with my Dell Latitude D800 laptop. I reformatted the HDD yesterday, and re-installed Windows XP. Now the responce time is even worse than before I did the HDD wipe. I have AVG, Ad-aware and Zonealarm installed on this machine.

Windows XP Prof version 2002 SP3
Intel Pentium M 1600 MHz, but running at 221MHz
1.0 gig of ram

Any help would be appreciated.

 

valis

Moderator
Joined
Sep 24, 2004
Messages
78,006
right click your desktop > properties > screen saver > power > see what your laptop settings are; if it's anything other than 'always on', switch it to that, and then check your processor speed again.

thanks

v
 

Nighthamar

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 30, 2008
Messages
8
Thanks for the reply V,

I completely forgot about that... :eek:

Just switched it and still the same. Would it be wise to get a Speed up program for it???:confused:
 

Nighthamar

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 30, 2008
Messages
8
I have tried to change it in the BIOS, but cannot get access to it.

I have checked, and the only passaord that I put on it is the Admin.. But I cannot change the speed in teh BIOS...:mad:
 

valis

Moderator
Joined
Sep 24, 2004
Messages
78,006
what is it set at in the bios? Generally bios won't mess with that.
 

Nighthamar

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 30, 2008
Messages
8
It is set at 600MHz, for the current settings...

Sorry bout the time between posts, I had a Doctors appt to go to...
 

valis

Moderator
Joined
Sep 24, 2004
Messages
78,006
it's set at 600 in the bios? Odd. And it's bios protected? Where'd you get this pc?
 

Nighthamar

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 30, 2008
Messages
8
Wel, it is not a PC, it is a laptop.

I bought it from a friend of mine. He needed the cash, and I needed a laptop... :)

And yes, it is password proctected in BIOS set at 600 MHz...
 

valis

Moderator
Joined
Sep 24, 2004
Messages
78,006
in that case, you are going to have to contact your friend and get the password for the bios.....unfortunately, we cannot assist in bypassing any passwords of any sort, bios or not.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Valis is correct. Contact your friend. Closing thread.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top