1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Slow ST3120026AS hard drive

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by OldManDan, Jan 3, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. OldManDan

    OldManDan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    I believe I have a slow hard drive and need help to fix it. I did all the usual things already. Removed junk files, Defraged drive and Meta data, Checked device manager for channel status, and scanned for driver updates.

    My SysInfo Data is:
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.1
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Professional, Service Pack 3, 32 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.60GHz, x86 Family 15 Model 2 Stepping 9
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 1022 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200, 128 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 114431 MB, Free - 64016 MB;
    Motherboard: Dell Computer Corp., 0M2035, , ..CN4811137306K5.
    Antivirus: Lavasoft Ad-Watch Live! Anti-Virus, Updated: Yes, On-Demand Scanner: Enabled
    I also use Zone Alarm Security suite.
    My HD Tune data is:
    [​IMG]

    My Health Info is:

    [​IMG]

    My disk info is:

    [​IMG]

    No other disk activity was running during the benchmark. I also ran Sea Tools and All the diagnostics passed.

    I would appreciate all help I could get.

    Thanks, Dan
     
  2. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Howdy,

    How old is the hard drive...how do you mean Slow?
     
  3. OldManDan

    OldManDan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    The computer is 3 - 5 years old. Old for a computer but until recently it worked well. By slow I mean it takes forever to do disk work. Eventually it finishes the reads/writes. If I don't wait to start another disk type job the computer will hang up, i.e. not accept keyboard or mouse input.

    Regards, Dan
     
  4. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    As a test try and uninstall Zone Alarm
     
  5. OldManDan

    OldManDan Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks for directing me in the right direction. I didn't uninstall ZoneAlarm but scanned the forum for high disk activity. The solution was to reset the ZoneAlarm DB. The problem went away and it solved my problem.

    Thanks Again, Dan
     
  6. Megabite

    Megabite

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    11,761
    Glad your OK.....:)
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/972458

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice