1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Slow Startup on Vista Home Premium

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by nonie45, Apr 17, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. nonie45

    nonie45 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Hi there,

    My Vista Home Premium (32 bit) takes about 5 minutes to boot up. How can I get this a little faster? When I first got it (a year ago), it was super quick. I think it first started misbehaving when I got Norton 360. My Norton subscription ran out, so I uninstalled Norton (using their uninstall program). I also have cclean and used it to get rid of any residual Norton. But, alas, it didn't help (at least not noticeably).

    Here's my startup list:
    Windows Defender
    Real Player (32 bit)
    Java Platform SE6 U3
    HD Audio Control Panel
    Intel Common User Interface
    Logitech SetPoint
    Logitech SetPoint (yes it does appear twice)
    Installshield Update Service
    Intel Common User Interface (2nd time)
    Intel Common User Interface (3rd time)
    COMODO Firewall Pro
    AVG Anti-virus System
    Microsoft Windows Operating System
    Adobe Update Manager
    Stickypad
    Spybot - Search & Destroy
    Messenger
    Google Update
    Microsoft Windows Operating System (2nd time)
    Logitech SetPoint (3rd time)
    Microsoft Office XP
    WG111v2 Application

    In my Services, there are 68 items that start up automatically, 6 of which have delayed start.

    I have 1015 MB Ram, an Intel Pentium processor 3 GHz.

    Thanks!
     
  2. ATm

    ATm

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    it's easy ,

    remove the programs from startup such as : Microsoft Office XP , Messenger , Real Player (32 bit)
    Java Platform SE6 U3 , Google Update , Logitech SetPoint (3rd time)

    and leave the other applications ..

    use Error Repair Pro 3.7 | form here

    its useful tool , speed & Optimize your PC

    :rolleyes:
     
  3. nonie45

    nonie45 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks! That helped considerably! What is this Error Repair Pro?
     
  4. ATm

    ATm

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    ^
    ^
    Error Repair Pro


    for more infos , see this link http://www.error-repair-pro.com/

    :)
     
  5. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,443
    Actually I would remove everything except Avg, Comodo and the wg111V2 (Netgear wirelsss adapter)
     
  6. nonie45

    nonie45 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    So is it okay to remove things like

    Windows Defender,
    the Intel (for my monitor - it had problems in the beginning and needed an update to work with Vista),
    the Logitech (for my mouse),
    MS Windows OS,
    and Spybot?

    Really? Would my mouse, monitor, and Windows all work properly?

    Thanks for the input so far! By the way, I may have spoken too soon on the success earlier. It rebooted quickly once. I had to reboot later in the day and it took a while again...

    Nonie
     
  7. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,443
    Yes as a matter of fact if you uninstalled the Logitech mouse software, Windows has native drivers and it would run fine. I would disable Windows Offender in Admin Tools in Control Panel, Services, it does nothing but occasionally will fail to update and create real problems.
     
  8. nonie45

    nonie45 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Well, I took everything out of startup except comodo, AVG, Spybot, netgear, and my stickypad. I rebooted it as a restart. It was still slow. (I know I didn't take out the spybot and stickypad as suggested :p - I'll try those, too.) I guess I could take out the netgear as well, since I don't currently use that for my internet connection (I used to, and keep it there as a backup).

    My monitor, mouse, and OS are working fine, just like you said they would, Rich-M. Thanks! You couldn't possibly know how very much I appreciate the help! Battling the slow startup has been so frustrating for me.
     
  9. 12blog34

    12blog34

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    I have just recovered from the same symptom: Very long startups.
    I have Vista Home Premium on a 1 year old machine.

    I tried uninstalling programs one by one.
    This took a very long time since all actions were slowed up.
    I even ditched by protected partition along with Acronis True Image.
    Only when I uninstalled AVG Free did the machine show any response.
    It took two attempts to(for unknown reasons) to download and install
    a new working version.
    I have reinstalled S&D Spypbot with no problems.

    If you still have probelems, then I suggest uninstalling AVG then reinstalling.
     
  10. nonie45

    nonie45 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Thanks so much for responding! As of yet, I have not had much success in getting a faster startup. It hangs on the logo for ZT. Once it gets to the marching little bars, it gets into Windows fairly quickly. But it takes a while once there for everything to actually settle down and be ready to jump at my beck and call! Right now, I have these on startup:

    Comodo Firewall
    AVG Antivirus
    Spybot Search & Destroy
    Messenger
    Skype
    WG111v2

    I think I'll cut off Messenger, Skype, AVG, and Spybot and see what happens.

    I've been thinking of signing up for that Smart Computing Magazine to get some tech help. We live in a rural area and there aren't many techs around here!

    Nonie
     
  11. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,443
    Don't take off Avg.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Slow Startup Vista
  1. SoundsofSand
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    767
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/704679

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice