1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Slow startup; Shockwave Flash crashes

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by Zello, May 1, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Zello

    Zello Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Messages:
    79
    Hello, everyone,

    I hope I've started this thread in the right place. I'm having problems with my browsers (chiefly Mozilla, but Chrome, too, of late).

    What happens is that, upon startup, it takes quite a while (4-8 minutes) for Mozilla to start. When it does, there will be a banner at the bottom that says 'Mozilla seems a bit...slow...to start' (or something to that effect). I've clicked on it before and seen an ad for getting Grimefighter. I've seen poor reviews online for it so I've opted not to try it. Instead, I'd like some advice from here.

    Once Mozilla has started, I get multiple messages about plugins still running and, if I'm trying to watch something on Hulu, Xfinity or, less frequently, Youtube, I get messages about Shockwave Flash scripts running long as well as multiple crashes. Mozilla Firefox has crashed as well (though a lot less frequently).

    This has been going on for several weeks and has seemed to worsen over the last two weeks. Within the last week and a half, I've switched over to Chrome (which I've never really used) to watch videos on Hulu and Xfinity, but lately I've started getting page crashes there, too.

    What can I do about this?

    Thank you in advance for your help in this matter.
     
  2. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,597
    what's the OS?
     
  3. Zello

    Zello Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Messages:
    79

    I'm running Windows 7 Professional (64 bit).
     
  4. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,597
    let's start with this:

    Download TFC by OldTimer to your desktop
    • Please double-click TFC.exe to run it. (Note: If you are running on Vista, right-click on the file and choose Run As Administrator).
    • It will close all programs when run, so make sure you have saved all your work before you begin.
    • Click the Start button to begin the process. Depending on how often you clean temp files, execution time should be anywhere from a few seconds to a minute or two. Let it run uninterrupted to completion.
    • Once it's finished it should reboot your machine. If it does not, please manually reboot the machine yourself to ensure a complete clean.
     
  5. Zello

    Zello Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Messages:
    79
    Valis,

    Looks like there is another problem before I can even implement your suggestions. My laptop won't access the internet. The router has all of the lights on and the ethernet cable connected to the laptop (I have cable internet service) has blinking lights, yet the computer is showing no internet access. When I go to the network sharing center, it shows the computer connected to an unidentified network (I thought it used to say xfinity before, but I could be wrong), but the network is not connected to the internet. When I click on the red 'x' on the line to the internet, Windows Network Diagnostics says I have no preferred wireless networks. I do not understand this as I am supposed to be connected to the internet through the router/ethernet cable.

    I then click on Local Area Connection and while it shows activity received, it also shows IPv4 Connectivity and IPv6 Connectivity as both having no internet access. Not sure why that is happening as I'd only checked emils and facebook early this morning. Is there any help for this so that I can go on to do the things you've advised above?

    Thanks for your help.

    Also, I've typed this from a second laptop that is connected to the internet wirelessly (but is older and slower).
     
  6. Zello

    Zello Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Messages:
    79
    Hello,

    I have recently started a thread in another part of the forum in order to get some help with slow startup with Firefox. But before I could even implement the steps given to me by one of your tech support advisors in that thread, I find myself with a new and bigger problem--I cannot connect to the internet anymore with the laptop in question.

    When I turn on the laptop, it shows that all of the connections are working on the router and to the laptop itself (I have a cable connection and the ethernet cable is new and appears to be working), however, I show that the laptop is not connected to the internet. In the network center it shows the computer as connected to an unidentified network (I don't know why that is as I have internet through xfinity and my other laptop connects to xfinity through wifi and shows the connection as 'xfinity wifi').

    I've run the diagnostic and it says that there might be a problem with the driver for the local area connection adapter. It also says I have no preferred wireless networks. When I ask the diagnostic to continue with repairs, it shows that 'local area connection' doesn't have a valid IP configuration in addition to the other two issues I've just mentioned.

    Is there a fix for this? Thanks in advance for your help!
     
  7. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,742
    First Name:
    Frank
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,610
    First Name:
    Terry
    I've merged your threads here, as it seems to be all related.
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,610
    First Name:
    Terry
    What firewall or security suite is, or ever was, on the system?
     
  10. Zello

    Zello Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Messages:
    79
    Thanks for the merger and addressing everything in one thread. The laptop has Avast and malwarebytes on it. I've only had malwarebytes on it for a few months, though.
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,610
    First Name:
    Terry
  12. Zello

    Zello Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Messages:
    79
    Okay, I've uninstalled Avast.
     
  13. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,610
    First Name:
    Terry
    Install or re-install the latest ethernet driver from the PC (or motherboard) manufacturer's web site.

    Open a (black) Command Prompt window:
    Hold the Windows logo key and press r; in the Run box type cmd and click on OK.

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    [Press ENTER after each command.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  14. Zello

    Zello Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Messages:
    79
    Here is the text file of the ipconfig command.


    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\Users\Felicia>IPCONFIG/ALL
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Zeferina-THINK
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 1x1 11b/g/n Wireless LAN PCI Express Half
    Mini Card Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 74-E5-43-9C-B0-98
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 08-9E-01-19-86-BF
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{0F7A0782-2A62-4AE5-84BC-C787AFFD0628}:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter 6TO4 Adapter:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{B18401A8-B9F1-44B2-94DD-8D5D0001F78C}:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    C:\Users\Felicia>
     
  15. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,610
    First Name:
    Terry
    It's as if there is no ethernet cable connected. Check the cable and physical connection--it may be loose. Does the ethernet LED light on the PC and the router?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1147556

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice