1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Slow user switching on Windows XP

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by idiomatic, Apr 17, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. idiomatic

    idiomatic Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    When switching users, the display on my PC often goes blank for 8-9 seconds.Perhaps the video adapter or operating system is determining whether to change display settings. I can find no reference to others having this problem.

    Interestingly, switching from a user to the same user doesn't cause the delay. The various users of this PC all use the same display resolution, so I don't see why switching between users should be slower than switching from a user to the same user.

    The hardware configuration of the PC is listed here.

    I'd appreciate it if anyone has a reference to others experiencing this problem as much web searching has turned up nothing. Instead of randomly upgrading drivers etc., I'd like to understand the likely cause.

    Thanks

    Glyn
     
  2. photolady

    photolady

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,391
    You need to check what the one user that this happens on has in startup.
     
  3. idiomatic

    idiomatic Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    >You need to check what the one user that this happens on has in startup.

    Not a bad idea, but this behaviour isn't limited to one user. Some users have open office in startup; others have nothing. But I don't see why this is relevant since the problem occurs when switching to users who are already logged on, i.e. the startup sequence is in the past.
     
  4. CarlssonMB

    CarlssonMB

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    809
    I've seen this on alot of other machines that use user switching. Its something strange with windows, I've just left it alone.
     
  5. Stallcup

    Stallcup

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Messages:
    238
    Perhaps you should run system file check. Go to Start/Run/type "sfc /scannow" in the dialog box (without the quotations)/OK. You may need your installation CD and, if you do, you will be prompted to insert the CD. This utility will insure that all your system protected files are OK. See if it helps solve the problem.
     
  6. photolady

    photolady

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,391
    I thought you meant you only had two users on this computer. Because your above post didn't mention many users.....just the statement pertaing to user.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/459795

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice