1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Slow wi-fi w/ media streaming & online gaming

Discussion in 'Networking' started by dannyvw, Apr 15, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dannyvw

dannyvw Thread Starter

Hi!

I've been struggling with this problem on my computer and I can't seem to fix it.. So here's the deal: I have a wifi subscription of 20Mb/s, and for a long time nothing was wrong with my speed. But for the past few days it has been going from 6Mb/s to 13Mb/s. YouTube and regular browsing is going fine most of the time, sometimes the page won't load. Now on websites like Tumblr, things are loading slowly. And whenever I use online media streaming or when I'm playing an online video game it sometimes loads, but after a few seconds the connection is gone again and it won't do anything anymore.

I've checked for Malware, did a reset on my router a few times but it doesn't seem to work. I wanna post a ipconfig but I'm not sure if it's safe to post the whole list online because I'm not that big of an expert.

Does anyone have any idea what I can do that might help?

2. joe957

joe957

Call your ISP provider.

3. CoolBurn

CoolBurn

What speeds do you get when hard wired to the router? The modem?
    Do you have the latest wireless adapter driver installed?
    Do you have the latest firmware installed on your router?
    How crowded is your wireless neighborhood? (possible wireless interference, try changing the channel to a less congested one)
    What OS are you using?

4. joecool99

joecool99

shared data line - depends on traffic. you will never get 20 at all times.

5. dannyvw

dannyvw Thread Starter