1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Slow Wireless Connection in Vsta

Discussion in 'Networking' started by stephen_lacman, Nov 9, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. stephen_lacman

    stephen_lacman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Hey all,

    I subscribe to Comcast internet service, at 10 mb/s. When connected wirelessly on my HP laptop, my internet is painfully slow, around 490 kb/s. However on my other laptop (a Sony VAIO) the internet speeds (wireless as well) are fine. Also, when I connect the HP by ethernet, the internet motors along at full speed. My specs are below, thanks in advance! :)


    OS Version: Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Premium, Service Pack 2, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T6400 @ 2.00GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 23 Stepping 10
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 3998 Mb
    Graphics Card: Windows Live Display Driver, 1 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 291681 MB, Free - 121606 MB; D: Total - 13558 MB, Free - 2103 MB;
    Motherboard: Compal, 30F7
    Antivirus: Trend Micro Titanium Maximum Security, Updated: Yes, On-Demand Scanner: Enabled
     
  2. JVeitch

    JVeitch

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Can you supply us with any information about your wireless card?

    How far away from the router do you tend to use your laptop?

    Does this happen 100% of the time?
     
  3. stephen_lacman

    stephen_lacman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    I have an Intel WiFi Link 5100 AGN wireless card, if you need any more information about it, let me know. The problem happens no matter my distance from my router, even when right next to the router, the problem persists. Yes, this happens 100% of the time.
     
  4. JVeitch

    JVeitch

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Do you have any other wireless devices you could also connect to your router? PS3? Xbox? iPhone?
     
  5. stephen_lacman

    stephen_lacman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    well, theres the other laptop, which runs fine. I also have an Xbox 360, and a Droid Bionic phone.
     
  6. stephen_lacman

    stephen_lacman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    the other devices show no issues, the phone is getting 8.9 mbps and the xbox is playing with no lag. the only issue is on the HP laptop, where I'm still getting only 400 kbps.
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,929
    First Name:
    Terry
    Make sure you have the latest wireless driver from HP's web site. If you already have the latest reinstall it anyhow (in case the installed instance is corrupted).
     
  8. stephen_lacman

    stephen_lacman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Reinstalled the driver, still no luck.
     
  9. stephen_lacman

    stephen_lacman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    In fact, it is now worse. Speedtests reporting 150 to 200 kbps now :(
     
  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,929
    First Name:
    Terry
  11. stephen_lacman

    stephen_lacman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    attatched is the screenshot you requested. I connect to the network "tiny39" in the screenshot. the others are my neighbors'
     

    Attached Files:

  12. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,929
    First Name:
    Terry
    Try channel 6 to avoid interference from the other networks.
     
  13. stephen_lacman

    stephen_lacman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    How do i change the channel of the router?
     
  14. stephen_lacman

    stephen_lacman Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    i figured out how to change the channel, and i changed it to channel 6, but the problem still persists.
     
  15. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,929
    First Name:
    Terry
    Not sure what else this could be other than a defective wireless adapter or motherboard.

    If you can access the wireless card by removing a cover on the laptop's bottom remove and carefully and firmly reinsert the card several times. This should fix any possible corrosion or looseness of the contacts.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1026169

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice