1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved Slow Wireless Connection On New Desktop

Discussion in 'Networking' started by codyklaiss22, Jul 31, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. codyklaiss22

    codyklaiss22 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    I recently purchased a new desktop PC and I am having troubles with the wireless connection.

    Wireless Download Speed: 1mbps
    Wired Download Speed: 70mbps
    Other Wi-Fi Devices In House: 70mbps

    HP Pavilion
    Intel Core i5 3.00GHz
    12 GB Ram
    Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 3168

    Arris TG1672
    Spectrum

    Device Drivers are updated.
    Tried reinstalling drivers.

    Thank you!
     
  2. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,499
    First Name:
    Frank
    What's the exact model number of your HP Pavilion desktop, and what's the exact serial number and product number on it?

    What download speeds are you getting with a wired ethernet connection with that desktop?

    Is your wireless modem/router and your desktop's dual band wireless device configured to use the 2.4 GHz band or the 5 GHz band?

    --------------------------------------------------------------

    I'm getting ready to shut down the night, so be patient until one of the networking experts here jumps in.

    I'll check back here in the morning to see how things are processing.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. codyklaiss22

    codyklaiss22 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Product Name: HP PAVILION Desktop PC 570-p0XX
    Product Number: Z5L89AA#ABA
    Serial Number: CNV7160N1B

    Wired ethernet is getting 70mbps with desktop

    Tried connecting to both 2.4 and 5G.
     
  4. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,499
    First Name:
    Frank
    You have this HP Pavilion 570-p026 Desktop PC.
    It was purchased about a month ago and came with Windows 10 Home 64-bit.
    According to its specifications section, it came with a Realtek RTL8161 gigabit ethernet device.
    According to what you said in post #1, it came with an Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 3168 wireless device.

    Go into the Device Manager, then expand the Network Adapters heading.
    What's the exact names of the ethernet and wireless devices listed there?
    Double-click each one to open its properties window.
    In the "General" tab, does it say each device is working properly?
    In the "Driver" tab, what's the exact driver version for each device?

    According to what you said in post #3, the ethernet device is working fine and is providing the advertised speed for your Spectrum account.
    Ethernet provides a more stable and more secure connection than wireless does, so why do you want to use a wireless instead of an ethernet connection?
    With ethernet disconnected, is that desktop detecting and displaying a list of wireless accounts, and is your wireless account listed?
    You may need to have a Spectrum technician come out to set up and configure that desktop to use wireless.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,995
    First Name:
    Terry
    Do you have the latest wireless driver from HP's web site installed? If so, ...

    Please attach a screen shot of the Networks page (don't collapse the Radar, Connection or Signal History) of the Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector. If you need help with a screen shot see TSG Posting a Screenshot. FWIW to take screen shots with Windows Vista or latter I prefer to use the built-in Snipping Tool.
     
  6. codyklaiss22

    codyklaiss22 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Under Network adapters I find-
    -Bluetooth Device(Personal Area Network) VERSION 10.0.15063.483
    -Bluetooth Device(RFCOMM Protocol TDI) VERSION 10.0.15063.0
    -Intel(R) Dual Band Wireless-AC 3168 VERSION 19.51.1.1
    Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller VERSION 10.16.323.2017
    WAN Miniport (IKEv2) VERSION 10.0.15063.0
    WAN Miniport(IP) VERSION 10.0.15063.0
    WAN Miniport(IPv6) VERSION 10.0.15063.0
    WAN Miniport(L2TP) VERSION 10.0.15063.0
    WAN Miniport(Network Monitor) VERSION 10.0.15063.0
    WAN Miniport(PPPOE) VERSION 10.0.15063.0
    WAN Miniport(PPTP) VERSION 10.0.15063.0
    WAN Miniport(SSTP) VERSION 10.0.15063.0

    All say they are working properly.
    I want to use wireless, because the router is in the other room and my family trips over the Ethernet cord. Lol.

    It detects my Wi-Fi and I can connect, however it only runs at a 1mbps download speed and it almost unusable.

    upload_2017-8-1_12-52-21.png
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,995
    First Name:
    Terry
    Wireless interference is an obvious problem. Change to channel 6 or 11. Also see if you can reposition the router or PC to get a stronger signal.
     
  8. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,499
    First Name:
    Frank
    Intel has a more current Windows 10 64-bit driver 19.70.0 for it which may help.

    I'm not there to see how to do it with your modem's on-line settings webpage or with that wireless device's advanced settings, but switching from the 2.4 GHz to the 5 GHz band may also help.

    I've leave you with Terry.

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2017
  9. codyklaiss22

    codyklaiss22 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Changed the wireless channel, seemed to have no effect. When I moved the PC in front of the router I was about to get a fluctuating download speed of anywhere from 10mbps to 46mbps. Still not near the 70mbps other devices in same location are gettng. I also tried uninstalling the wireless driver and using a Netgear wi-fi adapter i had lying around. Seem to get the same results. I'd really like to solve the wireless issue, however if I must I'll try to find a way of making a wired setup possible.
     
  10. codyklaiss22

    codyklaiss22 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Slash this response. Tried 5 GHz and I was able to get 70mbps when PC was in the same room as router. Obvious it is a location issue. Thank you guys for the help!
     
  11. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,499
    First Name:
    Frank
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1193995

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice