1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

In Progress Slowing PC

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by Ken_RM, Sep 27, 2019.

Advertisement
  1. Ken_RM

    Ken_RM Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Messages:
    162
    Hi
    Recently my laptop, Running Windows7 seemed to slow down. It now takes several minutes to start up while all the time the Disk appears to be continous active. Suspecting AGV, I removed AVG but the PC is still painfully slow. Is this a virus/malware or what? Please help.
    Thanks,
    Ken

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional, Service Pack 1, 32 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 CPU M 380 @ 2.53GHz, x64 Family 6 Model 37 Stepping 5
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 1910 Mb
    Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics, 731 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: 195 GB (75 GB Free); E: 90 GB (27 GB Free);
    Motherboard: Dell Inc., 0G2R51
    Antivirus: None
     
  2. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,932
    First Name:
    Frank
    You appear to have a 8 - 9 years old Dell Vostro 3500 15.6" laptop.
    What's the exact 7-character "service tag" number on yours?

    Your model laptop supports up to 8 GB(8192 MB) of RAM, but it appears to have only 2 GB(2048 MB) - which is likely one reason for the slowness.
    Yours is running a 32-bit version of Windows 7, so if you decide to add more RAM, don't increase it to more than 4 GB(4096 MB).

    If you believe your laptop is infected with malware/spyware/viruses, be patient until one of the malware removal specialists replies to help you.
    This site is very busy, so you may need to wait 24 - 48 hours until one replies.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. Ken_RM

    Ken_RM Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Messages:
    162
    Hi Flavalee
    Thks for your speedy reply. Tag is : 792L3N1
    Ken
     
  4. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,932
    First Name:
    Frank
    You have this Dell Vostro 3500 15.6" laptop which appears to have been purchased in February 2011 in Angola and came with Windows 7 Professional SP1 32-bit.
    According to your log in post #1, it appears to still have its original hardware.
    Besides it having only 2 GB of RAM, it's my guess it has a lot of running processes.
    The combination of both will make it run like a turtle.

    Let's see what the startup list looks like.
    Click Start, then type MSCONFIG in the search or run box, then press the Enter key.
    When the small "System Configuration" window appears, click the "Startup" tab, then click "Open Task Manager".
    Write down only the names in the "Name" column that are set on Enabled.
    If the "Name" column isn't wide enough to see the entire name of any of them, widen the column.
    Submit those names here in a vertical list.
    Make sure to spell them EXACTLY as you see them there.

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. Ken_RM

    Ken_RM Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Messages:
    162
    Hi again Flavallee
    I am getting lost. Your instructions followed, but there is no Open Task Mgr when small config opens? There is however a list as follows: upload_2019-9-30_16-4-33.png
    Is this the list you want?
    A second query:
    I spoke to the local computer store on the issue of increasing the Ram. They are not sure if I have DDR2 or 3 or 4 (the only have limited stock in some of them) and also not sure if I have 1 or 2 slots. Do you know?
    Finally, how do I get the malware guys to come in incase I have Malware/virus or something else. Must I post again somewhere else?
    Thks
    Ken
     

    Attached Files:

  6. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,932
    First Name:
    Frank
    I'm sorry.
    I was thinking your computer is using Windows 10.
    These are the instructions for Windows 7:

    Click Start, then type MSCONFIG in the search or run box, then press the Enter key.
    When the small "System Configuration" window appears, click the "Startup" tab.
    Write down ONLY the names in the "Startup Item" column that have a checkmark next to them.
    If the "Startup Item" column isn't wide enough to see the ENTIRE name of any of them, widen the column.
    Submit those names here in a vertical list.
    Make sure to spell them EXACTLY as you see them there.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------

    You didn't widen the "Startup Item" so the ENTIRE name of each entry can be seen.
    Even without doing that and without showing the entire list, I can see why your computer is running slow.
    It appears to have the entire startup list enabled and running in the background.

    It uses DDR3L-1600, 1.35 volt, unbuffered, non-ECC, 200-pin SODIMM modules.

    I suggest you ask a computer-knowledge family member or friend to help you with your issues.
    It's going to be time-consuming and difficult to help you from here.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. Ken_RM

    Ken_RM Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Messages:
    162
    My appologies for not widening the start-up Item, but I was not sure if this is what you wanted. What now. Do I still widen it and send it, and what items should I un-select? Unfortunately no family member or friend available. Can I purchase a DDR3. Can I get a 2Gb for a second slot or must I purchase a new 4GB one and ditch the existing 2GB one?
    You did not answer the question on malware ? Is the right person someone like CookieGal and if so, how do I attract their attention.
    Thks,
    Ken
     
  8. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,932
    First Name:
    Frank
    If your laptop currently has a single 2 GB module, you need another 2 GB module in its empty slot so it can run with 4 GB.
    There's no need to install a 4 GB module in your laptop's empty slot and run it with 6 GB, unless you plan to switch to a 64-bit version of Windows.
    A 32-bit version of Windows will recognize and use only 4 GB, no matter how much RAM is in a computer.

    Yes, please submit images of your laptop's startup list.
    Make sure they include the entire list of entries, and make sure the entire names of all of them can be seen.
    Once we get done with the startup list, we need to work on the much longer services list.
    We still have a long ways over several days to go.

    If you're concerned about your laptop having a malware/spyware/virus issue, this needs to be dealt with later.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------
     
  9. Ken_RM

    Ken_RM Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Messages:
    162
    Hi Flavallee
    Here is the total list in 4 sections;
    View attachment 272078






    I really appreciate your effort View attachment 272069
    Here is the list in 4 sections:
    upload_2019-10-1_19-12-31.png
    upload_2019-10-1_19-13-51.png
    upload_2019-10-1_19-15-1.png upload_2019-10-1_19-18-17.png
    upload_2019-10-1_19-12-31.png upload_2019-10-1_19-13-51.png upload_2019-10-1_19-15-1.png upload_2019-10-1_19-18-17.png upload_2019-10-1_19-12-31.png upload_2019-10-1_19-13-51.png upload_2019-10-1_19-15-1.png upload_2019-10-1_19-18-17.png
     
  10. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,932
    First Name:
    Frank
    Yikes! This is much, much worse than I thought.
    Your Dell laptop has a massive number of installed apps, and many of them are auto-loading and running in the background.
    I'm surprised it's not bogging down or freezing up every time you use it.
    You need to decide which ones you don't need and use, then they need to be uninstalled.
    I can't tell you while ones to uninstall because I don't know which ones you need and use.
    What your HP laptop really needs is a "clean" reinstall of Windows XP Professional SP3 32-bit and a fresh start.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------
     
  11. Ken_RM

    Ken_RM Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Messages:
    162
    Hi again Flavallee
    Thanks once again for all the help you have been giving. I am trying a slightly modified approach at present to what has been suggested thus far and would really like your thoughts:
    1. Uninstalled the apps that I do not need,
    2. Keep the apps that I use occasionally, but unclick them from the start-up list and only reinsert when needed (possibly twice a year). This seems to have increased the speed somewhat.
    3. Expand the Ram as you suggesed to 4GB.

    Once we have improved speed, will the Malware guys chime in automatically on my suspected virus concerns, or should I close this post and start a new post on the Malware/Virus/Naughty software question. If so, what forum should I use?

    Thanks again for your excelent support.
    Ken
     
  12. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,932
    First Name:
    Frank
    I met to say in post #10 that your laptop needs a clean reinstall of Windows 7 Professional SP1 32-bit and a fresh start.
    I was working on a Windows XP Professional SP3 32-bit test computer while I was in contact with you, and that was on my mind.

    What you're doing in steps #1 - #3 will definitely be helpful in improving speed and snappiness in your laptop.

    If a malware removal specialist doesn't jump in, I'll ask one to do so when you're ready.
    This section of the forums is very busy, so you may need to be patient.

    -------------------------------------------------------------
     
  13. Ken_RM

    Ken_RM Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Messages:
    162
    I am all ready to go, thanks Flavallee.
     
  14. Ken_RM

    Ken_RM Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Messages:
    162
    Hi Flavallee
    There has still been no response from the Malware specialists 6 days later. Is all still on track?
    Thanks, Ken
     
  15. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,932
    First Name:
    Frank
    I contacted a forum Administrator and made her aware of your issue.
    Be patient awhile longer.
    There's nothing further that I can do, other than what I already suggested to you.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1233531

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice