1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Slowly Killing Myself!!!!

Discussion in 'Windows Server' started by bradacus, Apr 21, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bradacus

    bradacus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    84
    AHHH!!! Ok ok - I'll calm down.

    I have a Server 2k3 box that has serious delay issues with Windows Explorer. Basically when I access any folder and attempt to navigate, it slows and takes 15-30 seconds to load the window.

    I have remotely accessed these same folders from other computers and they load immediately. This leads me to believe there is something going on with explorer that I'm just not seeing.

    I have tried a lot of different utilities to clean up/speed up the system to no avail. I also tried creating a new user profile and tested it with the same result.

    Is there a way to repair windows explorer and bring it back to default???

    Any help on this would be most appreciated.

    Thanks.
     
  2. dboiler

    dboiler

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    74
    I read about someone having a similar issue and they renamed c:\documents and settings\<profilename>\local settings\application data\microsoft\windows to "windows_old". Then log out and log in to the profile that's having the issues. When you log into that profile, it will recreate that windows folder.

    Good luck.
     
  3. bradacus

    bradacus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    84
    Hey dboiler. I gave it a shot but still no luck. It took me two minutes to navigate to that folder >_<!
     
  4. axis77

    axis77

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Messages:
    650
    on your server do you have some disconnected network share that is no longer available but the server or rather the explorer window is attempting to skim through?
     
  5. aasimenator

    aasimenator

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    436
    take a screenshot of the Task Manager (Process & Performance Tabs) post it here
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/918376

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice