1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

small network wont share

Discussion in 'Networking' started by MN_N8VTech, Feb 6, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. MN_N8VTech

    MN_N8VTech Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2001
    Messages:
    697
    Ive set up a network with a netgear FVS318 router, 2 computers have XP and one has 98, How do I set policies to share and allow changes on one of the xp machines? Each machine on the network can see all others and the XP machines can access the 98 machine,but the 98 machine cant access what I need it to on the XP machine.I also need to allow access to a particular software program on the 98 machine just in case,and cant that going either. Two of them use to be connected just with a crossover and that worked fine,but now it doesnt work the same.
     
  2. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    The basics for troubleshooting are:

    1. Make sure you have the same IP scheme (e.g. 192.168.0.x).

    2. Make sure you have the same Subnet Mask, Gateway, and DNS IP addresses.

    3. Make sure you can ping the other computer's IP address. If this fails, just for testing, make sure you turn off XP's as well as any other firewall.

    4. Make sure you can ping the other computers by name.

    5. Make sure you have the same workgroup name (watch for trailing spaces)

    6. For troubleshooting purposes, turn off XP's and completely uninstall any other firewall software. You can always add more complexity after you get it working.

    7. With XP, make sure you have the same username and password as the person logging onto the other computers. The default setting for XP Pro is to require a password for network access.

    8. More details about how to network XP can be found at:
    http://www.onecomputerguy.com/networking/xp_network.htm

    9. More details about how to troubleshoot TCP/IP networks can be found at:
    http://www.onecomputerguy.com/networking/trouble.htm

    10. Apply the registry edit to fix the browsing delay from XP to Win9x computers
    http://www.onecomputerguy.com/windowsxp_tips.htm#browsing_delay.

    There continues to be a lot of misinformation about needing NetBEUI or to changing the NetBIOS setting. You can ignore both. Installing NetBEUI to solve a networking problem will just mask a some underlying and potentially important misconfiguration with TCP/IP. The default NetBIOS setting works fine so there is no need to change that either. Just don't disable it.
     
  3. MN_N8VTech

    MN_N8VTech Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2001
    Messages:
    697
    You have to manually assign IP and subnet masks? Not obtain IP automatically? Everything pings fine both ways,with name and IP address. I failed to mention,its a dsl connection,not sure if that matters for anything. No firewalls and IP address scheme is set up correctly. I feel so dumb,i should know this.
     
  4. MN_N8VTech

    MN_N8VTech Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2001
    Messages:
    697
    Incidentally, I guess in essence things are sort of working, but if I try to access program files and some other things on the xp computer from the 98 one, even theyre set to share. Same in reverse,I was able to access the program I need to before, but not now.
     
  5. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    Don't believe it says anywhere to manually assign anything. Just to make sure the settings are correct. Setting TCP/IP to obtain an IP address automatically should take care of the IP settings. But I don't assume too much give then information provided.

    How far down in the testing did you successfully get.
     
  6. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    You typically can't share programs. They need to be installed on each computer.
     
  7. MN_N8VTech

    MN_N8VTech Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2001
    Messages:
    697
    ok,pretty much all of the testing is successful,and to be honest the program access is the big thing,I could access it before when using a crossover,why not now? I didnt know about the password being required by default,Ill check the results now,gimme 5
     
  8. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    Without knowing what has changed between before and after the crossover cable, it is difficult to determine.

    What is the program you can try to share over the network?
     
  9. MN_N8VTech

    MN_N8VTech Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2001
    Messages:
    697
    Its a chiropractic patient records/scheduling program. But the way it was setup before the program didnt have to be installed on each computer,just on one and the other accessed it so Im trying to do that again,but it says path not found. I know this is hard to advise on because software is so different.
     
  10. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    Some more detailed information would be helpful.

    For example, what is saying path not found.
     
  11. MN_N8VTech

    MN_N8VTech Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2001
    Messages:
    697
    Sorry I didnt get back sooner Bob, I got a phone call and when I came back I had been logged out of here so I decided to try a few more things on my own. I started all over with mapping the drive from each of the 2 workstations that needed to access the program and it finally worked. So now everything is set up for now, then the end of the week Ill have to change the program to one of the other computers, which is a scary thought. Im afraid of losing any info. and from what I understand the backup tape wont matter because its presently running on win98, and Im changing it to XP.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/327481

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice