Small office network

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

domy2002

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 18, 2013
Messages
7
Hi everyone,
This is my first post, i am asked to design a network for a doctors' office. Below are the details and need some ideas.
The new office facility has three doctors' offices, one manager's office, a nursing station, five patient rooms, the receptionist's desk, a waiting room for patients, and a lounge/break room that doubles as a conference area for occasional meetings. There is also a wiring closet near the manager's office.
The doctors have asked for network access in each doctor's office, the manager's office, the reception desk, two ports in the nursing station, and one in each patient room. They would also like to have a public wireless network in the waiting room for patients, and a private wireless network that covers the lounge/break room and all doctor and patient rooms. You may assume all computer stations are within 100 meters of the wiring closet, and there is a false ceiling that allows for easy access to wiring in any direction.
 

TheShooter93

Cody
Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 9, 2008
Messages
11,250
Is this an academic exercise? Or are you really just looking for advice on this?
 

TheShooter93

Cody
Malware Specialist
Joined
Jul 9, 2008
Messages
11,250
A professional grade wireless router, a switch to connect all the desired Ethernet cables to, and wireless repeaters would be some good things to purchase.

As far as layout goes, you know the building and the people. You know the possible dead zones that need more coverage, and the areas that are occupied the most and that would need the strongest possible connection.

Have you done any work like this before?
 

domy2002

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 18, 2013
Messages
7
I have never done this before. This is a project that i have accomplish and it also counts toward my final presentation for my degree as a network administrator. I have to build this network from scratch. i need to choose the cable, hardware and software required and test it at the end.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2013
Messages
8
You need 1 cat-5e or cat-6 cable for each computer
You need 1 connector and wallplate for each cable
You need 1 patch pannel to connect your cabling at the witing closet
You need a router to connect the Wan access
You need a switch to connect to the router and all cables
You need 2 access point and to manage access so the patien network cant access the doctors
network

If you assume that all cable are within 100 meters you will probably need some repeaters to cover all the office for the wifi, consult the manual of the ap for the covering range

Dont forget the put the public and private network on different Vlan
 

domy2002

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 18, 2013
Messages
7
Thanks for those precious details. My main issue is the design of the network itself. I know that i need the Microsoft Visio for the design; but i don't know where to start.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2013
Messages
8
Start by drawing the network on a paper
Create ip sheme by exemple : 192.168.15.0 for private subnet /24 and 192.168.16.0 for public subnet /24

Create two vlan
Vlan 1 private
Vlan 2 public

Decide wich router you want and the switches ( poe for the AP )

You need a server and a backup device

Decide if the router will provide dhcp or dns

Create dhcp pool for private AND public subnets

Start with this

More questions ?
 

domy2002

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 18, 2013
Messages
7
What if i want the dhcp and dns services to be provided by the server do you think it's a bad idea?
 

domy2002

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 18, 2013
Messages
7
Every connection has to start from the wiring closet right? If i succeed this project i will gain a lot of credit for my resume. Therefore, every piece of advice is precious to me. thanks
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2013
Messages
8
Yeah all the cables are terminated in a patch panel in the closet and interconnecter to the switch
Check on google image for a patch panel if you never saw one
You connect the cable behind and in the front you have rj45 plug corresponding to thr numbers behind and you plug a patch cord from the rj45 to the switch
 

domy2002

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 18, 2013
Messages
7
I have seen one in class but never connected it that's why everything sounds new but i have a clear picture of what i have to do.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top