1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Snopes problem

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by wa0goz, Mar 27, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. AmyToo

    AmyToo

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2017
    Messages:
    202
    First Name:
    Amy
    You need a plan for those passwords. Relying on browser temp files is not good.

    I don't see a way to delete specific autofill info. Looks like it's all or nothing.
     
    Johnny b likes this.
  2. wa0goz

    wa0goz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    247
    You're right it is all or nothing. I searched autofill and did not find the items in Snopes drop down. I don't know where they are kept.
     
  3. Johnny b

    Johnny b

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2016
    Messages:
    4,439
    First Name:
    John
    Indeed, that's the point.
    Mess it up and you have a fall back plan ;)
     
  4. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    76,524
    So what? I cant tell you how many times I have reimaged or formatted a machine to fix issues (I work in corporate IT) and this is just an app. It must be easier to dump Chrome and reconfigure it than go through this hassle.

    But obviously that is just my opinion.
     
  5. Johnny b

    Johnny b

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2016
    Messages:
    4,439
    First Name:
    John
    As a simple user, Tim, I have too .

    Every 6 months ( sometimes sooner ) Win 98 needed massive repairs.
    And then I discovered the joys of drive imaging :D
     
  6. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    76,524
    Yup, total agreeance.

    That said, it is their rig. I know mine is highly customised and generally dislike others fiddling with it. THAT said, I dont see a solution beyond what has been posted, but I have been wrong before.
     
  7. wa0goz

    wa0goz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    247
    Ah, but you end up putting the errors or whatever the problem is, right back on and your right where you started.
     
  8. Johnny b

    Johnny b

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2016
    Messages:
    4,439
    First Name:
    John
    Yes.
    But you would be able to commit repeated 'do overs' if there were to be lost browser data during your efforts.

    As I originally posted, Chrome's version of NoScript would likely cover up the problem, but I'd always wonder if Chrome has been hijacked by malware.
    I got the impression the unwanted links in the drop down menu were of a pornographic nature. That's unusual in a clean machine.

    Surely Chrome has a means to back up those links and history in case you have to do a re-install of Windows?
    If it doesn't, well, consider another browser in the future.

    Once you do get a system that's working properly, definitely make a drive image of it, and back up your data periodically.
     
  9. wa0goz

    wa0goz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    247
    I'm lost. If there were lost browser data during my efforts, by using a drive image, I would just be putting the errors back on the machine. If I make a drive image now, it will have the errors with it. I don't have a clean drive image to do what you say. You did give me a thought though. Maybe Chrome can tell me where the files are stored and how to get rid of them. I think I'll call Chrome if I can figure out how.
     
  10. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    15,829
    First Name:
    David
    Try deleting the Snopes cookies?
     
  11. wa0goz

    wa0goz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    247
    Where are they?
     
  12. Johnny b

    Johnny b

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2016
    Messages:
    4,439
    First Name:
    John
    You obviously didn't understand my suggestions.

    And I don't feel like repeating them.

    Good luck.
     
  13. wa0goz

    wa0goz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    247
    I'm sorry I didn't/don't understand. Thanks. Henry
     
  14. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    15,829
    First Name:
    David
    Well I do not use or even allow Chrome to be installed on any of my machines.
    So, I do not know where Chrome hides it cookies!
     
  15. wa0goz

    wa0goz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    247
    Snopes is not installed on your computer. When you click on the bookmark it goes to: https://www.snopes.com/search/ so not being installed I don't know how to find any cookies. Also, why do I get the dropdown if it comes new from a site every time. One would think it would be clean coming from the site. I don't get the dropdown when I use IE 11.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1225031

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice