socket pga370 ? is it for 100mhz only ?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Cadeau

Thread Starter
Joined
May 31, 1999
Messages
419
I;m working on a motherboard that has a "pga370" socket. I have no manuals and it is not installed in a machine. Does this "pga" socket 370 mean that the board is ment for a Celeron processor ? I have a Pentium 3 733 133mhz cpu in it now with 265mb pc133 sdram but the computer restarts as soon as it hits Windows. ( computer did not restart once during format and reinstall of windows 98se ) So , I am just wondering if the motherboard is meant for a 100mhz system.
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
You need more info on the motherboard. The chipset will determine what CPU's and memory will work with the motherboard and not so much the socket as there are 66, 100, and 133Mhz versions of Socket 370 CPU's.

It might also be bad memory.

Memory testor: http://oca.microsoft.com/en/windiag.asp
 

Cadeau

Thread Starter
Joined
May 31, 1999
Messages
419
Tripple 6 , I checked the Sdram in another machine that is running good. All my ram is fine. The motherboard had a big square chip in the center of it that has Intel 815 fw82815 plus some other numbers on it. That is all I seem to beable to fine on it. It has 2 sdram slots 3 pci slots, 1 agp slot atx connector onboard video and sound. Anyother suggestions ?
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2004
Messages
1,756
The Intel 815 chipset (which your board has) supports 66, 100 and 133MHz FSB, so your processor should work fine with it.
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
Intel 815 is a chipset, it supports all three FSB speeds: http://www.intel.com/design/chipsets/815/

Where did the motherboard come from? For identification look for writing on the circuit board or a sticker.

The promblem can be anything; CPU compatibilty, RAM compatibility, video compatibility, or anything else connected to the computer. It could also be a BIOS setting.

Remove any modems, network cards, or other things that don't need to be in the computer and try booting. Try another video card.
 

Cadeau

Thread Starter
Joined
May 31, 1999
Messages
419
the board has a small sticker and says made in Mexico and it says stamped in the board below the sticker IBM corporation 2000 1 06p2525 01 . I have cleared the cmos and reentered the minumum. I have tried the onboard video , the AGP slot ( with a working agp card), and a working pci video card.
I have tried numerious SDRAMs , I put in a new board battery, new working hard drive, installed a diffrent P3 cpu ( changed clock ratio too) . Whats really got me is that the format and reinstall of Win98se went really good with not one problem, But when it finally gets around to actually starting windows for the first time it reboots over and over at the same point. And there is only one jumper on the whole board which I would say is it the cmos clear ( which I did too)
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
So the problem has to be with one of that parts that hasn't been replaced; which I guess is only the motherboard, powersupply, and CD-ROM?

Being an IBM motherboard it might be hard to find any good info on it without knowing what IBM system it came in. Google shows some hits for 06p2525 but nothing too useful.
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2004
Messages
914
You say that the install went OK, but when windows tries to load, the computer restarts. Have you tried safe mode? A bad/buggy driver or any program that loads at startup can cause the same problem.
 

Cadeau

Thread Starter
Joined
May 31, 1999
Messages
419
Jack, I did forget to mention that in my last posts! I am able to get into safe mode because I tried it. The computer ram fine and everything worked ok . Any suggestions ?
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2004
Messages
914
That would indicate a conflicting driver/program, and not bad hardware. Boot into safe mode, delete all shortcuts in the startup folder in the start menu, then run msconfig (start>run>msconfig) and under the startup tab uncheck everything. Try a normal boot. if successful, go into msconfig, and enable one item and reboot until you find the program/driver that is causing the problem.
 

Cadeau

Thread Starter
Joined
May 31, 1999
Messages
419
Ok thanks Jack ! I'll give it a try and post how it went, I;ll do it tomorow
Thanks
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2006
Messages
1
i'm reviving an one year old topic.
i've got the same 06P2525 01 motherboard, i am trying to build a system on it, but i can not figure which are the connectors for power button (and the same for reset, speaker, leds).
if anybody can give me a hint, i will be so grateful.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top