Software installation on drives_ Acer V Nitro VN7-591G

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

hoiyuetchau

Hello. I have a Acer Aspire V15 Nitro Black Edition laptop.
As the available space on C drive(55GB) is relatively limited, i would like to know how can i manually install software on the D drive(931GB) instead. Given that the C drive is always auto-selected but when I try to download the software on my laptop, there seems no options in choosing another drive for the software installation.
Note: I am a design related subject student, thus I would require sufficient space on the C drive to run the big CAD program files as fast speed as possible during the drawings.

I would say the majority of the software installers do give you the option to select a designated residency for the new software with a default location in the C:\ if you do not bother with it.

However if your D:\ drive is an external device like a USB hard drive the software may not like it and refuse to go there because when the USB is unplugged the system is broken.

The best solution is to upgarde the system hard disk by cloning it to a larger hard disk as a 2.5" internal 4TB is quite affordable now (I recently bought a Seagate 5TB 2.5" USB external hdd) Using a hard disk larger than 2TB may have issue with older Windows so for speed you can fit a 256GB ssd which is the same size as a 2.5" hdd. That will make your CAD lightning fast. The catch is how to clone a system hdd and there are plenty solutions available and most of them are free.