1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Software needs for NT 4 Server

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by NumberCruncher, Jul 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. NumberCruncher

NumberCruncher Thread Starter

I am a newcomer to Tech Support Guy, with a unique problem...

My job is tech support for a bunch (nearly 20) of Windows NT 4 Servers for one of our clients. Most software these days is not written for NT. Now, our company installed these servers back in the 1990's, and they work fine to this day. Dell has been good in supporting their product. Our new installations are 2003 Servers. But this client has been with us for over 10 years, and doesn't think that they need to upgrade. But that is not my problem.

I am looking for software that will run on NT Server (NT 4.0 SP 6a) and SQL Server that will consolidate directories and defragment the disks (not Diskeeper Lite).

I am also looking for software that will allow me to assess any difficulties (i.e. registry problems) and take care of them.

The difficulty is, this software must be current. I cannot go to Ebay to pick up software...I have to buy from a known vendor and the product must be the most recent. Freeware is a possiblity if it can be sufficiently documented that it is a product that is undergoing continuing development.

2. DoubleHelix

DoubleHelix Banned

I suspect you're going to have serious problems finding new software that is fully supported for Windows NT 4.0.