1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Software to Import Pics from Digital Camera

Discussion in 'Digital Photography & Imaging' started by kev7706, Jul 30, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kev7706

kev7706 Thread Starter

I'm new to the digital imaging scene and I plan to but a simple digital camera in the future. When looking at reviews for certain cameras, I noticed many comment on the bundled software provided by camera manufactuers. I am looking seriously into a Sony camera, but the software reviews are far less than favorable. My question then becomes: Do I have to use the bundled software to import/extract the images from the camera? Once on my hard drive, I know I can transfer the images to another program (i.e. Photoshop, Paint Shop, The Gimp) for editing purposes. It seems like I could just copy the images using Explorer, but I am obviously not sure about this. Also, if it is possible not to use the provided software to import the photos, is there another piece of software that works well?

Thanks in advance,
    Kevin

2. buck52

buck52 Banned

There is no need to use the camera software to transfer the images to your computer

assuming you are using XP just transfer with explorer then edit/view with the program of your choice...

buck

3. craigwp

craigwp

Download the free version of Picasa2 and it will do exactly what you want and more. When you add any new graphics there is an option picasa2 has to automatically store the info for you.
    http://picasa.google.com/index.html

4. kev7706

kev7706 Thread Starter

Thanks for the replies. My question was answered exactly. :)

5. Noyb

Noyb Trusted Advisor

IMO.. and some reviews I’ve read ..

Picasa leans more toward browsing you system for pictures and helping you organize them.